Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

Guess what?

I truly do believe that the Universe, the Secret, God, Jehovah, Allah, Krishna whatever it is you call the higher power truly is at work and life will bring to you what you need.

Now that’s not the answer to the guess what question but it is an insight to where my head is.

A few weeks back I applied to for yet another seasonal part-time job.  This time at a kitchen supply store.  I got the call back to attend their job fair on Wednesday.  I went and was put in a group interview situation.  My first ever.  It was strange and while I know that the position is for minimum wage and temporary, I was less than impressed with the whole scene. 

The interviewer asked us 5 questions and that was the end of it.  I left thinking:
a. I didn’t get the job
b. I am not sure if I was offered this job that I would take it
c. I should rethink this whole part-time retail job search

So I made a conscious decision to abandon retail and figure out a way to create extra income with less effort.  And yes I know if I figured out how to do this and patent it I would be RICH!!

This brings us to yesterday and what answer to the guess what question. 

Late yesterday afternoon my boss called me into her office and told me that she was officially promoting me!!!  WHOO HOO!!! 

I have been doing most of the functions of my new job for the past few months, but I will now have the title and more importantly the salary. :)  I will now move into a management role and will need to take some training.  A friend who trains for a living recommended the Disney Institute.  I never knew there was such a thing.  But it’s a recognized leader in training and in Florida so my interest is piqued.

I have lots to learn but I am confident that I can do it well.  :)

The “coincidence” of looking for additional income and getting a promotion with a raise the next day is not lost on me.

Comments on: "Guess what?" (6)

  1. Congratulations on the promotion. It is nothing short of fantastic and well deserved. I am happy such a coincident happened for you.

    I hope it makes things easier for you even if it means a bit more work but you said you have already been doing it so this is good.

    I’ve also never heard of the disney institute but a quick glance at the website and I can see the magic. Thanks for sharing.

  2. I used a manage a retail store, and I hated it. I was so happy when I graduated from college and started my career. My advice, don’t find a job in retail! People are insane.

    • Having never had a job in retail I am not sure why I am attempting to do it now. At the time I see these postings I am usually thinking about how to make more money and apply on a whim. I completely agree with you, people are insane.

  3. [...] more than one occasion I have had things I wanted fall into my lap.  Most recently was a bigger paycheque after trying to land a part-time job, I got a promotion and a salary increase at my current place [...]

  4. [...] example I was looking for a second job when I got a promotion and more importantly a [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 221 other followers

