Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

N(L)S Challenge – Wk 1

Week 1 of the No (Low) Spend Challenge is done!!  Only 3 more weeks to go.

Jan 1
No Spend Day :)

Jan 2
$9.43 lunch at the mall. My bestie wanted to go out for lunch, I figured the mall would keep costs down. ;)

Jan 3
No Spend Day :)

Jan 4
$300 cheque to the dentist for Diva’s lower braces

Jan 5
$15 case & screen protector for my iTouch

Jan 6
$5.24 groceries that went on my credit card
$10 payment on my credit card to compensate the groceries

Jan 7
No Spend Day :)

Grand Total: $339.67
3 No Spend Days!!
Coffee Tin Change Pile: $17.07 – this will be the last time I know exactly how much money is in it until Feb 1

With the exception of the grocery hiccup, I have not used credit this week!!!  I did write a cheque to my dentist as I didn’t realize that this visit would be for Diva’s lower brackets instead of just a cleaning.

I thought this might be a cash only month, but I will have to pay some expenses by cheque so it will just be no credit for me.

To make this challenge even more “fun” I have the following unexpected events:

  1. my Uncle called to let me know he’s throwing a surprise birthday party for my Aunt’s 60th birthday, so I should probably bring a gift
  2. a girlfriend sent me info about a seminar about personal growth that looks very interesting and she can get us 50% off the published price
  3. I was invited to a Pampered Chef party … I think I can go and not buy anything
  4. my Cousin is coming to visit from South Korea, so there should be a dinner out

All of this on top of trying to not go into my savings or use my credit card … I think the Universe is trying to test me.

Gonna go check my fridge, freezer & pantry … maybe we won’t need to buy any more groceries this month and I can do all the extra things.

Anyone have any ideas on what to get a 60-year-old woman that’s cheap inexpensive?

Comments on: "N(L)S Challenge – Wk 1" (2)

  1. You did awesome this week!! I don’t think the dental care chq. counts as its not really optional! As for your aunt, does she have a hobby or enjoy reading? It’s hard at that age as they usually have “everything”.

    • I can’t recall her having any hobbies. I wanted to do a gift certificate to a spa but in light of my budget … I am not sure that is possible. I was thinking of calling my Dad and seeing if he would like to put my name of his gift. Too cheesy?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 218 other followers

