Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

The strangest thing

Ummm, I think I was headhunted today.  First time EVER!

I work for a small company, so I tend to wear many hats.  One of those hats is receptionist.  When our front desk person is away from the desk, the main line is forwarded to my area and when it rings I usually answer it.  Sometimes in a fake accent to amuse myself. ;)

Today, the phone rang and the person on the line was looking to speak to a job title that was similar to mine.  So I said “Speaking” and she launched into an introduction including the company she works for.  Thinking she was cold calling to see if I needed any additional staff, I let her continue.

As it turns out I was very wrong.

She was looking to recruit me.

She has a client who is looking for someone who is currently doing what I do.  Curiosity got the better of me and I let her continue.  The job sounds interesting enough, but what I really wanted to know was the compensation.  She told me the salary offered.  It was lower than what I am currently making.  She asked me to name a price, so I told her $8000.00 more than I am currently making and $20,000 more than her suggestion.

She didn’t seem to blink.  In fact gave me the “if it’s the right person, her client would be willing to pay” speech.  I’m intrigued.  I gave her my contact information.

She sent me an email requesting my resume.

I think out of nothing more than I am extremely nosy, I will send her my resume and see what happens.

I’m not sure what it would take for me to leave my company.  My intention is just to see what else is out there.  I am happy where I am. More money never hurt, but I am learning new things at my current position and I am really enjoying that.

I told one of my friends who asked me if I would tell my boss that I was offered another job and try to negotiate more money if it came to that.  Until she said it, the thought never crossed my mind.

I’ll keep you posted on whether or not anything becomes of this.

Comments on: "The strangest thing" (6)

  1. very interesting and a novel way to recruit. Will be interested to see how it all turns out.

    Gill

  2. Nice. I would have asked you the same question you asked. Just remember if it comes to that tread carefully. You have to play your cards right when negotiating. I applaud your curiosity. People who are happy usually shoot down other opportunities but it’s still good to see what else is out there.

    Have fun with the situation that fell from the sky. Good luck and may the best come of it.

  3. How cool is that, it’ll be interesting to see how this develops, keep us posted!

  4. Congratulations! It means your skills are in demand and the supply is low ;)

    The only things I’d caution you about regarding asking your boss for more money is this:

    1) They might think you’re a disloyal employee and work to get you fired sooner or later

    2) They may not give you a raise, but if you end up staying, they will now know that you will never leave no matter what & will do things like not give you a raise or any money for a long time.

    Don’t say anything until you really take this offer seriously and the money is really better than what you are making now, and if the environment/opportunity looks better than where you are at now.

    Go onto GlassDoor.com for instance, and read about the company before you make any decisions.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 219 other followers

