Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

Jan No Spend Challenge

I was doing really well.  And if we don’t count my little slip, I am still doing well. ;)

Last week I got an email about the live production of The Lion King returning to Toronto.  I saw it a long time ago and loved it.  I knew that I would want to take my kids to see it … one day.  The Lion King was in Toronto a couple(?) of years ago but I did not get my act together in time to go.
*Really I am a theatre snob and if I can’t sit close to the stage I don’t want to go.  When I multiplied the cost of 1 good seat by 3 I got cold feet.  Ahhh, confession is good for the soul. lol

Anyhoo, back to the email.  The advance purchase price which while expensive was more affordable than the last time I looked at tickets.  So I played with a lot of dates and found seats in a section that I could live with.  I added them to my cart and after 10+ minutes of contemplation, I hit buy.

I am going to see the Lion King with my girls in May!!!  I’m so excited.  I have not shared this with my kids yet as I like to keep things as a surprise.  Also Diva will probably give me a long lecture as we are on a no/low spend challenge.  Yes my 14 yr old is a bit more disciplined than me.  Don’t tell her as I will never hear the end of it.

 

Comments on: "Jan No-Low Spend Challenge update #2" (8)

  1. You can’t save all the money in the world… And what better way to spend it than to have an amazing experience. Enjoy it and don’t feel guilty :)

  2. I saw The Lion King in Toronto back in 2003 and it was the best show ever! I hope it stays all year so I can see it again the next time I’m there.

  3. Confession is good for the soul… I’d have done the same to see Lion King!! lol!!

  4. Live shows are some the really big ‘highlight’ memories from my childhood and teen years. I think it’s worth spending money on a ‘big’ event like that – you know it will be remembered!

  5. […] in on or under my reduced budget – I was over by 4% if you don’t count my tickets to The Lion King, 18.5% if you […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 218 other followers

