Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

I had a different post started and then DRAMA came calling.

I have a friend who lives in Arizona who is up a creek without a paddle and I am extremely concerned and unsure of what to do.

My friend who I lovingly call “AZ” has painted himself into a corner BIG TIME.  He is 26 and has managed to create more drama that a daytime soap opera.  In his short life he has been arrested, been evicted, been to jail, attempted suicide and had his license suspended.  The bad decisions of the past have made life very hard for him right now.

Last year he was kicked out of his family home.  The family was then evicted.  His mother went to live with his brother and his sister left the country.  He has burned bridges with the brother.  So staying there was/is not possible.  His only ‘friend’ graciously offered to take him in.

Now this friend wants him out … sooner rather than later.  Originally the friend gave him until September 1.  Today he was told be out by tomorrow.

AZ was offered a job pending criminal check that was supposed to start Aug 29; that fell through.  He has a misdemeanor on his record.  He was able to get an apartment conditionally.  It requires the landlord who evicted him to write a notarized letter stating that the debt had been repaid.  It has not been.

Yesterday he had the bright idea to be a taxi driver.  Today he learned that his license is suspended.

Life is hard for him right now.  He has been able to get a few gigs as a DJ and has one tonight.

He is mentally and emotionally fragile with suicidal tendencies.

Tomorrow he will be homeless and  jobless with $163.00 to his name.  I am trying to keep him hopeful.

We discussed:

  1. selling his plasma (he went today and was turned away because it was too late in the day)
  2. homeless shelters
  3. putting his stuff (DJ equipment) in storage
  4. selling his DJ equipment (on the fence as to whether this is a good idea as it does help him make money)

I don’t know what else to suggest.  I don’t know how to help him.

I am debating sending him some money.  The amount is unknown at this time as I don’t know what I can afford and what good it will do as it is a temporary fix.

I am at my wit’s end.  Any suggestions or ideas would be appreciated?

Comments on: "Between a rock and a hard place" (3)

  1. Oh my 😦 Maybe he can enlist in the military, despite the record?

  2. This is a tough one and I am sorry I don’t know how to help. You are on your own for this one but I do hope the best comes of it.

Leave a Reply

