Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

R.I.P. Jack

This is not the post I was planning to do but today Canada lost a great political leader.

  (Source)

Jack Layton passed away this morning from a second bout of an undisclosed cancer.

On July 25 this year Jack stepped down from his role of leader of the NDP, Canada’s official opposition party.  It was a sad day as he did not look like the Jack Layton we knew and had grown to love.  He looked like he was on death’s door, but he was JACK, a super man, he had beat prostate cancer.  He would beat this cancer too.

But sadly less than a month later, cancer won the battle.

Two days ago, Jack penned a letter to Canadians to be published upon his death.  Even in his darkest hour, he still took time to inspire others.  His final words in that letter are:

“My friends, love is better than anger. Hope is better than fear. Optimism is better than despair. So let us be loving, hopeful and optimistic. And we’ll change the world.
All my very best,
Jack Layton”

Great words from a great man.

You will be missed Jack.  My thoughts and prayers are with your family.

Comments on: "R.I.P. Jack" (1)

  1. I was so saddened to hear of Jack’s death when I woke up this morning. I thought he was a great & inspiring man. I feel for his family… 😦 My thoughts & prayers go out to them.

Leave a Reply

