Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

10 years have passed

And it doesn’t seem to get any easier.

September 11, 2001 was a day in history that we will never forget.  It was filled with incredible pain and human generosity.

I was in college that day.  Leaving my first class to go home while walking through the student center I saw the second plane hit the tower on a television.  I thought it was a preview for a new movie.

I was very wrong.

I spent the next few hours glued to my tv.  At the time one of my Uncles traveled frequently for business.  There was a driving need to find him.  Once he was found safe and sound, I learned I have a cousin who works for United.  Again a bit of worry.  My cousin was on a different flight.  I could only be grateful.  One of my cousins used to work in one of the World Trade Centers.  A few people she knew and used to work with were killed that day.

My cousin, whose father is the travelling businessman, called me.  I could barely get the words out that he was safe without tears falling.

I was in shock.  How could this happen?  Those poor unfortunate people and their families.

On the news that night I distinctly remember tearing up, not for the loss but for the outpouring of kindness.  A great many planes were grounded in Gander, Newfoundland as US airspace was closed.  Those people were given the best of Canadian hospitality humanity.  The locals opened their homes and gave food, clothes and a friendly shoulder to lean on, whatever was needed.  That’s the kind of world I want to live in.

On my list of things to do was to eat at the restaurant, Windows on the World, that was in the Trade Center.  Several trips to NYC always left me with the feeling I would do it next time.

There will be no next time.

 

Comments on: "10 years have passed" (2)

  1. I didn’t about the humanity, generosity, kindness and overall love that was shown on that tragic day. Only the bad was highlighted. It’s good to know in dark times, we as people will band together and support each other as one.

Leave a Reply

