Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

Confession time

Most things I see and want I can usually leave in the store.  On my last walk down lustful avenue, I forgot to mention one of the other things on my wish list, a food processor.  Obviously not as exciting as a pretty watch or an iPad.

I have been meaning to get closer to my roots by making Christmas cake.  It is a bit of a process, which begins by soaking a mishmash of ground fruit in liquor, the longer the better.   So last year I spoke to one of my cousins who bakes cake every year and decided to set my fruit.  How all this relates to a food processor you ask?  She was telling me it was the only time she could see herself using one and as such could not justify the price.

I agreed, until this past summer when I saw my step-mom mix together pastry batter (is it called batter?) in hers.  I kid you not we put in the flour, lard, salt and then ice water.  One minute it was crumbly, a tablespoon of cold water later presto change-o a ball of dough!  I was amazed and with that it was put back on the wish list.  

Isn’t it pretty? (Source)

The price was still a bit off-putting until yesterday when The Shopping Channel had a showstopper deal.  I have never been on the shopping Channel website but somehow ended up on their mailing list.  Yesterday’s showstopper was a KitchenAid 12 cup food processor for 1/2 price plus additional attachments AND a $50 mail in rebate.  It was just too much for me to pass up.  I really did think about it, I swear.  I thought about it so long that the colour I wanted was out of stock when I finally made up my mind.

In the end, if I don’t use it enough to justify it I will sell it.  But I am very excited for the various attachments and what not!  

Do you have a food processor?  If so what do you use it for?

 

 

Comments on: "Confession time" (2)

  1. I don’t think it will be a bad investment as you will be using it to make food and probably save some money in the process. Plus like you said, if it isn’t used you can sell it. We don’t own one so I can’t tell you much about them.

  2. […] a different note, I FINALLY opened the package my food processor came in.  I long ago made up my mind that I was keeping it.  Since that was the case I figured I […]

Leave a Reply

