Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

Cell phone dilemma

Over the past two weeks my cell phone has taken to freezing up.  It rarely tells me when it decides to go on strike. 😦  I really like my phone and it saddens me to have to get rid of it.  I need a phone that will consistently work as my cell is my primary phone number. 

Currently I have a HTC Touch.  An ancient phone but it did all the things I need a phone to do; talk, text and has a calendar function which puts my next calendar entry on the home screen. 
HTC Touch
Isn’t it lovely?

The only problem I had with it is the lack of keyboard.  The virtual keyboard keys were tiny.  They are designed to be used with the stylus that came with the phone.  I don’t have data on the phone although it is possible to get a plan with it.  I was hoping it would last me until my Rogers contract is up in February 2012.

(Source)

Saturday was a frustrating day as my phone was giving me more problems than usual.  It was telling me that the time to say good-bye was coming sooner than I would like.  I have been shopping around looking at different cell providers since we have a tonne of them now. 🙂 

I thought about just buying a phone out right so that I could get through the remainder of my current contract but the store I was in did not have anything that I would consider affordable.  I called a few friends and one was able to loan me an old Blackberry with roller scroller issues.  He scolded me for not having a data plan as a Blackberry without the ability to BBM or browsing was just a waste in his opinion. 

Maybe it’s just me, but I am not yet convinced I need to get my emails on my phone.  Plus I hear through the grapevine that once you get data you never go back. 

On my way to pick up the old BB, I called Rogers to see what they could do for me.  The gentleman in Customer Retention offered me a sweet deal.  That included everything I wanted, unlimited text messaging, unlimited incoming calls, 200 daytime minutes and my evenings begin at 6 pm.  Then he offered me data for an additional $20/month. 

Here’s where the trouble starts.  I am was  actually considering it.  I don’t need data.  It is very much a nice to have.  The phones that Rogers is offering me for free all have to have a data plan.  I was leaning towards a Blackberry (gotta support my Canadian companies) but I am not convinced I need to get the latest and greatest one.  I saw one in the store I was in for $250.  And now I think that might be the better way to go.  I can still get BBM but no unnecessary expensive monthly data plan. 

I used to be the kind of girl who would change cell phones every year.  There was always something newer, better, prettier.  Lately I find that new gadgets don’t hold the same allure they once did.  Hence my predicament now. 

I would love an Android phone but there are not many of them that come with a real keyboard.  The only one that appeals to me is the Sony Xperia Mini Pro.  I like the new Blackberry Bold and Torch, the idea of touch and a keyboard is very appealing, but the cost is too high.  I love my old Windows Mobile platform.  I like HTC brand phones, but Rogers only carries one and it doesn’t have a keyboard and would require that I take a data plan.  Then there is the new iPhone 4S … a total splurge.  It actually looks quite enticing.  When did life get so complicated?

I need to make a decision sooner rather than later.  Any thoughts? 

Comments on: "Cell phone dilemma" (1)

  1. I’m running into a similar predicament but not quite the same. I honestly don’t know what to do with mine and I have no idea what to tell you for yours.

Leave a Reply

