Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

The competition

Ever spent time with people who make you question why you spend time with them in the first place?

I have a co-worker whom I am positive if we didn’t work together I would not talk to.  She is loud and abrasive and just down-right cold and annoying.  Most at work seem to tolerate her and even find her amusing.  I am not one of those folks.  Sad part is we used to be closer but the more time I spend with her the more I am repulsed.

Background info

She is a single woman who lives with her brother.  The nature of their relationship causes my eyebrows to raise often.  She often buys him expensive personal gifts that seem odd to me.  Since I did not grow up with any of my brothers I don’t know if their situation is “normal” or not.  I have asked friends with brothers and most of them give me a screw face and tell me that seems strange.  I am all for taking care of family but under no circumstance will my brother be treated like he’s the main man in my life.  One that I shop for while on vacation.  You might get a cheesy souvenir but that’s it.  

A few years ago, we went on a week-end shopping trip to PA with one of my girlfriends in a rental car.  On the way to the border I held on to the car door for dear life.  She drove like a maniac and blamed it on being used to her own car.  Huh!?!  The rental was smaller than her car it should have been easier to drive.  At duty-free I relieved her of the keys.  Of course we had to buy liquor as she is a drinker (more on this in a bit).  The stop at the border was almost an hour due to indecisiveness on what to buy.  Ciroc won. 

(Source)

We did not get to our hotel until after midnight.  

That night the bottle of liquor had to be opened.  We drank less than 1/4 of the bottle (make note of this) then went to sleep.  

Saturday started with a journey to find breakfast and then to Wal-mart.  Picture it we are in small town USA.  The Wal-Mart is adequate.  It is the only place to shop other than the outlet mall.  This caused my co-worker (CW) and girlfriend (GF) grief.  They could not imagine living in a place without shopping options.  **insert eye roll here** Anyhoo, throughout the time in Wal-Mart it seemed that whatever my GF picked up, CW would pick up 2.   It seemed like a competition to see if she could buy more.  It was insane.  We hit the outlet mall and separated since we all had different interests.  It was a long day.

Dinner was had at a local restaurant.  The food was decent.  CW ordered a steak that was closer to medium well than well done.  Remember this detail.  We went back to the room and CW decided to drink.  So the Ciroc was shared out.  GF bought her own bottle of something else so she was content with only a taste.  I drink when it makes sense and 3 women in a hotel room drinking just seemed sad so I did not indulge much.  This left CW with over 1/2 the bottle.  By the time we went to sleep, the bottle was empty as she “can’t waste liquor”.

Throughout the night I was awoken by CW’s many trips to the bathroom.  She was in there for a long time each time.  I am relatively sure it was the Ciroc that got her but she is blaming the steak.  Far be it for anyone to suggest that she can’t hold her liquor.  **more eye rolling**

Around 6 am the fire alarm in the hotel went off and stayed on for roughly 1/2 hour.  This made Sunday an unproductive shopping day for my travel mates as they were sleep deprived.  No problem for me I quite enjoy shopping by myself. 🙂  

We left PA in the early afternoon.  We stopped in Buffalo to go to Sally Beauty Supply and the Olive Garden; then home!

The trip left me feeling like CW was the type of person that always has to do more than whomever is there.  You spend $2, she must spend $4.  You drink 1 drink she must drink more (see how I rhymed there, I got mad skills!!! lol).  It was sad to me.

Which brings me back to present day.  On Friday, I shared with CW the fact that there was a little cellular kiosk selling various Blackberry phones and the pricing I got.  Her reaction was one of semi-interest as she did not want to be locked into another contract.  She wants the new Bold but it is $525 from this company.  I personally didn’t think she would buy the phone outright as she’s strange with what she will spend money on and $500 is way out of her comfort zone even though she will never admit it.

As you know I got the Bold.  This was not intentional on my part by any means.  I have been researching cell companies and phones for a few months as I knew my contract was coming to an end and was debating leaving Rogers.  She is not with Rogers but was thinking about switching companies as well.  

(Source)

Anyone else this would not seem strange to me but with her …

I sort of dreaded going to work yesterday as I am one of those people who leave my cell phone on my desk.  Since it has a pretty case it was screaming look at me.  Another co-worker saw it and then mentioned it to CW.  This sent CW to call her current provider.  At the end of it all she tells me that she got the Bold for free without having to change her current plan and no data plan.  I don’t know why but I find this hard to believe.  

This just seems like “Oh you got a deal, well I got one better”.  

Is it just me?

 

Comments on: "The competition" (3)

  1. Who knows, I have never actually met someone like that but it is logical to think that way and I would not be surprised that you are right.

    In the end though, it really isn’t a big deal so don’t let it bother you. Unless she got the phone from the same provider as you for free, which would mean you should too then don’t worry about it. If she wants to one up you let her go ahead. Just don’t be lured into the competition. Not good for your finances, or your life on the whole.

  2. […] am so kind, I am sharing. You can thank me later. 😉 Please ignore my horrible cell phone pics, my Blackberry is […]

Leave a Reply

