Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

Christmas

It comes the same time every year.  And still I’m overwhelmed when it arrives.  This year it seemed to arrive earlier as some stores had put out Christmas decorations well before Halloween.  Not sure what’s up with that.

Over the years I have managed to get rid of decrease the number of people on my Christmas list.  It is currently at 10.  2 of which are work people.  I am trying very hard to figure out how to let them know that I no longer want to participate in this annual tradition.

I do not need anything.  My wants far exceed the price point that I am comfortable asking anyone to spend.  I haven’t opened/used the gifts my co-workers gave me last year.  I just don’t want to do it anymore.

I tried broaching the subject with one of my co-workers yesterday and she said she too doesn’t want anything this year.  I started to get excited thinking I could finally get her off my list and INSTEAD she offered up gift cards.  This year she wants gift cards.

WTF!?!

Really you just can’t go out and get what you want without my giving you a gift card???  It’s not as if she’s saving up for something big either.  She told me I could get her a gift card to either the book store or the liquor store.

REALLY!?!

So I’m supposed to get you a $XX gift card to X store in exchange for you getting me a $XX gift card to Y store!?!  Can we just save ourselves the time & aggravation and I just go buy what I want and you do the same?

Am I being unreasonable?

Comments on: "Christmas" (8)

  1. I agree, it’s pointless. The guys in my family do that too, and I said, “really, why bother?!” Makes NO sense to me.. lol! I’d just tell them, sorry, you can’t fit it in your budget this year unfortunately, but “have fun!” anyways… 😉

  2. I don’t think that’s unreasonable at all. Personally I’ve never bought anyone from work a Xmas present. I don’t even buy my friends anything. I draw the line at family and girlfriends (and their family). I know if I don’t draw that line I would end up buying hundreds of presents. But then again I am a dude, for some reason no one really cares if we hand out presents or not, or maybe they do, but as a dude WE don’t care if they care 😛

  3. LOL. My brother and I used to do that all the time – we’d buy what we wanted, give it to eachother to wrap, and put it under the tree and pretend to be surprised.

    I have to admit to laughing out loud when I saw the liquor store comment.

  4. You are definitely not being unreasonable and the comments generated on this post are nice.

    I can understand doing it the first year to fit in but if two of you agree it is unnecessary and the gift card thing is pointless I see no reason to continue. Only reason I would continue to participate is if I know it would benefit my work life. Like if you dropped out, would it make work more uncomfortable being around those people?

  5. […] managed to get my list down to 8!  Co-workers are off the list.  Even though they complain about having a lot of stuff […]

Leave a Reply

