Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

Week-end in America

Saturday I went across the border to upstate NY.  I was on a mission to find a mid-length winter coat.  After several visits to various Burlington Coat Factory stores, I admitted defeat and went into a mall.

  (Source)

In Dressbarn I found this beauty.

While it is a little thinner than I would have liked, it has what I was looking for; mid-thigh, zippered with a hood without fur.

No trip to America is complete for me without a trip to Target and Wegman’s.  I was able to finally go to Super Wegman’s that I had heard about earlier this year.  It was huge and I had the most fun walking up and down the aisles.  Yup, I’m a real hipster!! 😉

In Target and Wegman’s I picked up enough to go over my duty-free allowance.  I confessed my sins to the border patrol officer.  She looked at my receipts and let me go.

I found a couple of Christmas presents while in the States.  So other than my mother my shopping is complete.  🙂

On Sunday after running around in my friend’s car all day I returned to my vehicle, placed all my newly acquired goods in the trunk and mentally prepared myself for the drive home.  Well I guess I should have said something to Betty, my car so she too could get ready.  I pushed the key in the ignition and turned and got nothing.  When in doubt, try again.  Still no luck.

My friend has a portable battery booster so we tried that.  One the third try it worked.  Great, except I needed gas and was worried that if I turned off the car it would not turn back on.  There was no trouble at the gas station or in fact since but I had the battery replaced yesterday just in case.

Comments on: "Week-end in America" (3)

  1. Love the jacket! 🙂 Sounds like you had a great day of shopping! That was nice of them to let you not pay extra taxes! Score!!

  2. […] the battery dude was there I gave him a blank look when he was trying to figure out why my new  just replaced after this incident battery was dead.  I think it was the fault of the best $10 I ever spent.  My car has heated […]

Leave a Reply

