Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

Christmas prep

I can’t remember if I told you that this year for the first time in maybe a decade my Mother & I are both ‘free’ on Christmas Day.  She usually goes to visit with one of my cousins and I go to my Dad’s.

Well not this year.

Usually my kids spend Christmas Eve night into Christmas morning at their Dad’s.  I then pick them up on my way to my Dad’s.

Well not this year.

My kids’ Dad is working this week-end.  My cousin has dinner plans.  My Dad is going to his wife’s family’s house.

I toyed with the idea of going out to dinner, but then a turkey arrived at my house.  My kids told me they will be home Christmas Day.  So I figured why not.  So tomorrow I am going to make my very first turkey dinner.

Pray for me.

I have no idea what I am doing.  All I know is that the bird is still frozen and I have it defrosting on the counter hoping that we all don’t get food poisoning.

Comments on: "Christmas prep" (3)

  1. Thaw the bird in the sink. Keep changing the water ever few hours. If you need some recipes, I have some good ones on my blog under the recipe section. Let me know if there’s anything else I can do. I love cooking holiday meals and can’t this year.

    Good luck!

  2. Your turkey should be fully immersed in a sink full of COLD water. Change the water every hour… Then put it in the fridge overnight when you go to bed! lol!

    Good luck! You can do it!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

