Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

No (Low) Spend Challenge

Carla has done it again.  Come up with another creative challenge to get us to increase our savings/reduce our spending.  She has called it No/Low Spend Challenge and it runs for the entire month of January!

I finished my 2012 budget earlier this month and will use it as a guideline.

My goal for this challenge is to:

  1. Spend only cash (paper money, no debit or credit) – with the exception of paying the outstanding balance of Diva’s QC trip.
  2. Put all leftover coins in a jar and put towards savings (hide jar from children who like to rob it for “spare” change)
  3. Track my spending like a hawk
  4. Come in under budget for the month

#4 is a big one for me.  I have a tendency to slack off towards the end of the month.

So when I come in under budget this month I am going to rinse and repeat for next month.  😉

Comments on: "No (Low) Spend Challenge" (4)

  1. I think this challenge is pretty awesome but I will have to skip it this time around. I already have January sort of planned out and saving won’t be the major focus. I will definitely have to give it a try for February.

    I wish you the best of luck and I know you can succeed.

  2. Great goals!! It does get harder as the month goes on, doesn’t it?! We can do it though!! 🙂

    On another note, I’m on your email subscriber list right? I haven’t got any updates till today then I read back and see that I missed a bunch of posts! :/

Leave a Reply

