Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

Hurray for budgets

I don’t know where my head was this month.  But lucky for me I have a budget … that I use. 🙂

Last night I was updating my budget with my various receipts to see how far off the beaten path I had strayed when I noticed that there wasn’t an entry for my monthly maintenance fee.

A quick check to my cheque book and bank account confirmed that I had not paid my condo fees this month.  😦

I will admit that in the past I have paid late.  This is usually a conscious decision on my part based on budget constraints.  I have NEVER in the 4.5 years of living in the building ever completely forgot.

Thankfully I keep track of my money or else I could have ended up being at least a month behind.  And as Murphy usually happens, the association would request the money when it is the least convenient.

Crisis averted.  For now.

The fun part is I will have another condo fee to pay … in 2 days …

On a different note, I played around with my budget to see if I could come up with the rest of Diva’s outstanding trip costs ($450) out of next month’s budget instead of taking it out of savings.  I think it can be done.  It means that I will not be increasing my savings next month by much and we will not be eating out either.

Comments on: "Hurray for budgets" (5)

  1. I’ve done stuff like that, and being that its December, nobody can blame you for that! 🙂 Glad you’ll be able to work it out of your budget! I did tat with my new laptop too… It’ll be tight, but better than taking it from savings!

  2. No worries. Tragedy averted. And you seem to have a plan to keep it all under control.

    PS. Thank you for the words of encouragement. It’s getting better.

  3. Hurray for budgets and keeping track of your finances.

Leave a Reply

