Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

Rule #1

I BROKE RULE #1!!! 😦

I made a liar out of me.

I opened the flyer to one of the local grocery stores.  They had some fruit on sale.  Most of it was what my kids really like.  So I made a list and went in.

I went in with the list.

What I didn’t count on is the fact that I haven’t bought meat lately and there were a few good deals on some other stuff to be had. 😦

What else I didn’t count on was breaking rule #1 … going shopping on an empty stomach. 😦

Everything in the store looked good.

I was not as discriminating as I could have been.

I bought a lot of good stuff; fruit, meat, vegetables, crackers.

I thought I was going to stay out of the grocery stores for a while and I failed.

Okay NOW, I really think I am done with the grocery shopping for the next couple of weeks.  I am invoking a mini fiscal fast.  The only exceptions are milk and fresh produce … maybe eggs. 😉

 

Comments on: "Rule #1" (8)

  1. You’re not the first to do this, and you won’t be the last! 😉 lol! Make yourself up a menu plan & see if you can make it stretch!!

  2. Make a menu plan!

    • This seems to be a theme … I am going to spend some time in the cupboards and the fridge to see exactly what I have to make sure it all gets used up. Luckily for me I have a mother who has NEVER turned down food so worst case scenario she gets invited over a lot!!

  3. been there, done that and have suffered the consequences believe me!!!

    Gill

  4. Hehe, that happens easily. I also think a weekly menu does help. I make mine during the weekend and make sure I plan on meals that will make me use up the food I already have and just buy the rmissing ingredients. I do my groceries only once a week based on that list 🙂

Leave a Reply

