Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

Thrift store shopping

When I read about all the great deals bloggers get at thrift stores, I get a little jealous.

(Source)

It is only in the last couple of years it has occurred to me to even walk into a thrift store much less shop there.  I was am the queen of donating, but it never dawned on me to look and see what others donated.

Since I read a lot of American blogs, I was introduced to cheap grabs at local thrift shops.  And wondered if I could find deals here.

2 years ago on my trip to MD, my cousin pointed me in the direction of what she called a great thrift shop.  I scored this purse I had my eye on previously for $7, regular price was $29.99.

(Source)

I was hooked.

Hoping to replicate the same finds locally, I went into a thrift shop I happened to pass several times before.  To put it delicately, I opened the first door, hesitated, then opened the second door and my nostrils were assaulted by a musty smell that was beyond unpleasant.  I hightailed it out of there.

It took another year before I went into another thrift store.  This one was better but still not enticing me to really shop.  I wandered around but it was very cluttered and disorganized.

Last week-end, on the recommendation of my BFF, I went to the closest thrift store to my place.  It was not bad.  Everything was organized and neat.  Since I had a long list of errands to run, I only spent a short amount of time in the store.  My intention is to go back when I have time to spend hunting.

I am slowly becoming more aware of thrift stores in my local area.  I would like to find a few more to see what else is out there.  Hopefully I can find one that has lots of cool items are great prices.

Comments on: "Thrift store shopping" (16)

  1. There are a lot of good thrift stores around where I live, love it! It saves me so much money.

  2. Love the purse! I would only go to the thrift shops in the nice areas of town… Stay out of the lower end stores.

  3. I love thrift store shopping! I am a seasoned junker! YOU are going to love it!

  4. It can be hit and miss with the thrift shops but it’s worth persevering. Love the purse!

  5. I’m not good at thrifting either but I wish I was. There is one by my house that is supposed to be amazing and i have found some stuff in there but every time I go I feel SO overwhelmed. It’s huge and packed to the brim. Freaks me out.

  6. I’d actually give them a try if I could find any.

    I’m not sure if we have any on the island, there is a chance but if there is one it is probably the only one. I recently learned we do have at least one consignment shop but I haven’t been to it. It’s not like I shop much anyways, especially not for clothes.

  7. I’ve only gone ONCE, but it was a lot of fun and I found great things at a cheap price 🙂

    It does take patience, a lot of time and just plain being lucky to find good items, though. I want to definitely go again and explore some more.

  8. I love thrift store shopping. I look at it like a treasure hunt. You never know what you are going to find! The more you shop at them you will find which ones are good, and which ones aren’t so good. Cute purse you got there!

Leave a Reply

