Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

IWIW – 03/07/12

This week’s want is a familiar one.  You have hear about it before.

A Pretty Watch

I am back on the lusting after this watch.  In fact it is getting stronger. 😦

 (Source)

It doesn’t help that I tried it on.

I found the watch for $140 cheaper in the States and was preparing myself to purchase it the next time I am there.

I told a friend of mine in the States about my watch and he managed to find it on Amazon for almost $250 cheaper than it is here in Canada.  Because I am idle, I decided to see if I could order it and get it shipped to his house since he’s just across the border.

I can.

Then I put it on the back burner as I didn’t have a plan to go to the States any time soon …

Do you see where I am going with this?

Back on Amazon I went.  And if I ship it to my family in MD, I don’t pay sales tax and the watch becomes almost $300 (54%) cheaper.

So now it’s back in my line of sight.

Pros

It’s pretty
It will go well with my new grown up look

Cons

I don’t need it, I have a functioning watch
It’s a little pricy

Surprise surprise, it’s a tie.

So I am opening the floor to you.  Should I order it?

Comments on: "IWIW – 03/07/12" (6)

  1. Will anyone starve if you buy the watch? Will bills go unpaid if you buy the watch? Wil you be slapping the watch on a credit card because you don’t have $$ to pay for it? If you answered “no” to 3 of these questions, proceed to the checkout & enjoy your new watch!! 🙂

    • No one will starve. The bills will get paid. The amount that is charged to my credit card will be paid right back. Tee hee I am going to order my watch and ship it to my cousin’s house. Thanks for the reminder that I can afford it.

  2. I agree with Carla. 🙂

    I’m looking for a new watch, myself. Dark brown leather strap, men’s-style. So far, no dice. If I found a watch I loved (Even though I own 3), I’d buy it.

    The other 3 I have, to be fair.. one is breaking and popping off, the other is too small to really read the dials properly (*sigh* fashion) and the last one is nice, but a women’s slim watch.

  3. I’m with the others on this one. Carla gave you three good questions to ask yourself before proceeding to checkout.

    I just want to add that you should also track the amount of times you treat yourself. Like if you buy this watch now and it cost x amount. Will you say this watch will satisfy your wants for x amount of time. In that way, you won’t find yourself heading down a path where you are constantly giving into lust when you shouldn’t be. It should have a balance.

    I hope this isn’t to confusing.

  4. […] update on this want.  I ordered it.  It is currently waiting at my cousin’s house for me to pick it up.  I […]

Leave a Reply

