Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

WSR – 03/24/12

Let me start this by saying while away I did not track my spending.  I went to Target, groceries stores, drug stores and I ate.  I couldn’t be bothered.  I was on vacation after all!!! 🙂

So I am going to start with my first day back.

Mar 19
$157.90 groceries
$5.62 broom

Mar 20
No Spend Day 🙂

Mar 21
No Spend Day 🙂

Mar 22
$6 bus fare for kids

Mar 23
$8.13 Popeye’s for lunch
$30 dinner with my daughters

Mar 24
$63 gymnastics for Diva

Grand Total:  $270.65
2 No Spend Days 🙂

Going to try to increase my no spend days.

All and all not a bad week.  Only thing is that I have fallen off the wagon in regards to this month’s challenges.  I would like to say that I will be giving it the good old college try but that would just be an out-and-out lie.

Gymnastics was an unexpected expense.  In Toronto we have a Parks and Rec program that offers various activities at a significantly discounted price.  The only catch is that there are a limited number of spots available.

In order to register you need to get up at the crack of dawn on a Sunday morning and either go online or apply by phone.  A long and tedious process.  Well on registration day, I forgot and slept in.

Even though I got up an hour after the start time all the spots in the gymnastics class that Diva wanted to do were filled.  So I put her on the waiting list and was pleasantly surprised when I got the call Saturday informing me that she was in.  Money I will gladly pay as she gets so much joy out of it.

Comments on: "WSR – 03/24/12" (5)

  1. Good luck on increasing the no spend days. I agree in that something that brings joy to your Diva is worth the cost. I look forward to putting my little one in activities that she enjoys.

  2. Can’t fault you for the gymnastics class. Would have done the same once I could afford it.

    You must have been balling on your vacation lol Glad you had fun.

  3. I’ve been tracking my spending as well, but have never counted my no spend days. Maybe I should try limiting my days of spending, as a challenge. Do you think planning for no spend days is useful?

    • I don’t usually plan to have a no spend day. It would be so beneficial if I did. I did at one point try to do a fiscal fast where I tried not to spend money for 7 consecutive days. It was challenging but taught me that it was possible to survive out of what was in my cupboards.

Leave a Reply

