Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

Workout update

This morning I got up, put on my big girl panties and tackled week 4 like a champ. 🙂

I am not sure what changed today, but last week every morning was a fight to get up to workout.  And each workout sucked.  I got it done but got no pleasure from it at all.

This morning all that changed.  I got up and got it out-of-the-way and it felt good.

The workout was hard.  There were lots of parts where I didn’t keep up.  But I finished feeling a lot better than every workout last week.

On Friday I looked into addressing my desire need for new shoes.  I am fortunate that my mother works for Running Room, so I get to take advantage of her generous staff discount.  I passed by on my lunch to see what their selection was like.  My criteria was cheap with some stability.

In the past I was a Nike girl.  I only bought Nike shoes.  Not sure why but I refused to get anything else until I took up running 10+ years ago.  I needed a shoe that would help with my rolling ankles.  At the time, no Nike provided enough support for me.  So I bought my first real running shoe, New Balance.  I knew they were real, because they were not pretty.  This started me on my journey away from Nike.

Since then I have bought more pairs of Nike shoes, but only as a “fashion” shoe.  When I want a shoe to workout in, I look at other brands.  Which brings me to my latest shoe, Adidas Supernova Sequence.

 (Source)

I don’t think I have ever owned a pair of Adidas in my life.  I also picked up a foam roller.  I have some really sore muscles. 😦

I booked a massage for Tuesday.  I was on the fence as to whether or not to keep it.  I will cancel it tomorrow.  Looking over the budget, I am over in my miscellaneous category which is where my massage would fall. 😦

I will just use my foam roller instead. 🙂

Tomorrow I get to try out my new shoes!

Comments on: "Workout update" (6)

  1. I love Addidas! The only thing I wear. I need YOUR motivation!!

  2. very nice!

    new follower here! Can’t wait to hear how your new shoes work out. I have always been a Nike girl but have come to realize it might be time for a change also.
    http://mylifewithweighloss.wordpress.com/

    • Welcome. I will let you know tomorrow. I would suggest going to a store that specializes in running shoes as they spend the time to see how you walk and are usually athletic. I have nothing but great things to say about stores that sell running stuff. And I’m not just saying that because my Mom works in one. 😉

  3. gillshouse said:

    well done on keeping up with the workouts. I just bought a pair of Clark’s running shoes, although in my case they will be walking shoes!!!

    GIll

Leave a Reply

