Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

August goals

Another month seems to have snuck up on me.

I had to go back and review my July goals as I don’t even remember them. 😦

How did I fare for July?  Not so good.

Jillian every day – pass

Budget – fail

Budgeted Actual Difference
Transportation (gas) 120 112 $8.00
Food (groceries) 300 363.3 -$63.30
Entertainment (eating out) 60 73.43 -$13.43
Clothing/gifts 20 84 -$64.00
Everything else 210 524.38 -$314.38
710 1157.11 -$447.11

$300 of that overage is from paying my dentist.  Which I put money away from every month but then take the payment out of my regular budget.  Why I do it that way makes no sense to me at all.  But my savings don’t take a hit so I guess it works.

Fiscal fast – fail

August goals

Exercise – work out at least 5 days a week except for the week I am on vacation.

Budget

Budgeted
Transportation (gas) 120
Food (groceries) 235
Entertainment (eating out) 60
Clothing/gifts 20
Everything else 210
645

I am going away for 1 week this month.  So I should be able to make this budget.

As with all my vacations I have been saving up and my spending once I leave the house comes out of my vacation fund instead of my regular budget.  My vacation account now stands at almost $645. 🙂  I am ready for my trip to MD.

I am toying with keeping track of what I spend while on vacation.  It would be a first for me.  What do you think?

Comments on: "August goals" (4)

  1. Since I bombed my goals for July and published them for all to see, I wasn’t motivated enough to get the list completed. I have goals for August, in my journal, and my biggest one is the budget and managing my spending.

    I would budget my vacay just like I would anything else. If there wasn’t a limit, then that is when you overspend. You find things you don’t need, and you think it’s OK to overspend because it’s vacation!

    I hope you have fun!!

  2. You did Jillian everyday? I’m so impressed. I tried 30DS once, and didn’t try it again for months. Then I did it two days in a row – that’s my personal best. Jillian kicks butt like no other, so congratulations on your accomplishment.

    • Thank you, I had to play a lot of mind games to get it done. Mainly it’s just 20 minutes, I can do anything for 20 minutes. 😉 I also found watching Extreme Makeover Weight Loss edition very inspirational. If the morbidly obese can do it then why not me.

Leave a Reply

