Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

November Goals

I can’t believe that it’s November already.  The year is almost over. 😦

I don’t want to put too many goals on my list this month.  I would prefer to do 2 things well than fail at 10 things.

So here goes.

New Goals

  1. Ripped in 30; 5 times a week for 4 weeks
  2. Complete my Christmas shopping
  3. Start and possibly finish my vision board

On-going Goals

  1. Reducing my debt
  2. Increasing my savings
  3. Tracking my food/calories
  4. Track my spending and try to stay closer to the budget

I think this is enough for this month.

My Christmas list is relatively small compared to most; only my parents (3), siblings (3) and kids (2).  Grand total 8!!  *small dance*

I have no idea what to get most of these folks.  I would like to not spend a fortune in total.  I have counted and rolled most of what’s in my sealed pot.  It adds up to $412 so far.  I would prefer not to use it all, but right now it is about $50 per person.  Do-able but it would require me to be creative.  I think I am up for the challenge.

My Dad wants men’s yoga shorts like these from Lululemon, but doesn’t want me to spend the big Lululemon price tag   In fact he would be very annoyed with me if I bought him a pair of the desired shorts. *big sign* 😦

My Step-mom is usually easy enough.  She likes sparkly things and nice scents.

My Mom … needs nothing.  Not sure what to do for her as I don’t want to give her another “thing”.

My sister (from my Dad) is easy enough; either gift certificate to the movies or something sparkly.

My brother (from my Dad) is not so easy.  He likes Best Buy … would probably love a gift card from there but that makes me uneasy as how much does one give without it appearing “cheap” or “too expensive”.  (My Dad is old school and still believes $20 is a lot of money.  Well it is, but it no longer has the buying power like it used to.)

My other sister (from my Mom) usually gets $50 cash from me.  But that was before she worked.  Now I am not sure if I really need to give her that much as she now has cash of her own.  She likes brand name things and is at an age where if she doesn’t like it she won’t wear/use it. 😦

Princess doesn’t have a lot of wants.  She is “sitting” on a bucket load of cash from working this summer and has purchased very little, mainly food.  I know she needs some undies as there was a laundry mix up … I’ll leave it at that. But other than that I am at a loss.

Diva wants to change her hair colour.  I do not want her to use chemicals.  She would like hair chalk.  I am agreeable to this option.  As my luck would have it one of those daily deal sites had a set on sale.  So this gift has been ordered.  I would also like to get her the latest Dork Diaries book.

Some where I read about getting your children 4 gifts for Christmas; something to wear, something to read, something they want and something they need.

Hopefully I can think of a few options for my kids and 2 of my siblings and my Mom.

Any ideas?

Comments on: "November Goals" (6)

  1. I wouldn’t worry too much because you seem to have the right focus, so keep going strong:))

  2. I’d check sporting goods shops for yoga shorts for your dad.. There are other brands that are every bit as good as Lulu that would be cheaper. As for brother & sister, give what you can & leave it at that! 🙂 For your mom… hmm… what else does she like? Any hobbies??

  3. I know what you mean about hair dye, I coloured my hair for the first time (I’ve had highlights before) and I felt like I was poisoned! I felt awful for a week and I won’t do that again unless it’s a “green” product that is non toxic.

    … And the 4 gifts idea was Carla! I remember being impressed when I heard her list too! Such a good idea!

    • It’s funny I used to dye my hair all the time back in the day then I thought about what I was doing and quit. I think that when the greys come in I might change my mind and start looking at henna or something along those lines.

Leave a Reply

