Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

For the love of a good book

I forgot how much I love reading until recently.

Usually I read books that have a purpose.  How to get out of debt, how to better manage time, how to be a better parent/person etc.

I get recommendations from anywhere and everywhere. Then I log into my local library to reserve a copy of the book if it is available.  Some books I have enjoyed and others I have endured.

A few months ago I read The Taker by Alma Katsu.  For whatever reason I punished to finish this book.  While the story line was interesting enough I was not heavily invested in the characters.  I finished the book because I started the book, no other reason.  My co-worker told me it was part of a trilogy.  I will not be picking up any of the other books.

(Source)

 

A recommendation for Wild by Cheryl Strayed crossed my path and when I went to look it up online at the library the number of holds on the book was over 500.  I took that as an indication that the book will be a good one and I added my name to the list.  4 weeks ago it was my turn.  I thought this book would be like Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert but outside.  It was not.  This book had me laughing and shaking my head.  I enjoyed this book.

(Source)

Last night I stayed up finishing Secret Daughter by Silipi Somaya Gowda.  I have taken this book out of the library a few times but never found the time to start it and since it was in demand I could not renew it.  Well I started it sometime last week and thankfully I am finished so I can get some sleep.  The ending … I didn’t see it coming.  I really enjoyed this book.

(Source)
I recently joined goodreads.com to try to keep the list of books I want to read in one place.  If you are a reader I would highly recommend this site.  If you are already a member and want to be friends, let me know.

I am waiting for Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn from the library.  I just checked and it is “on its way”.  Oh goodness, this sounds like more sleepless nights for me.

Do you have any book suggestions?

Leave a Reply

