Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

IWIW – 12/12/12

I have been at home since yesterday taking an online course which will last until the end of the week.

This is my very first experience “working” from home.

I never really thought about working from home before BUT these couple of days being home have me pondering.  Granted I believe part of this is because the course is run like big business.

Right now I work for a small company.  I got to work for 9-ish and stay until 5-ish with usually only a 20-30 minute lunch break (unless it’s all you can eat sushi lunch day ;)).  Big business starts at 9, goes for a 15 minute morning break, then a 1 hour lunch break followed by another 15 minute afternoon break.

Since I am at home, I use my 1 hour lunch break to workout. 🙂 Then I eat my lunch while sitting on my couch in front of my computer listening to the instructor.

I can see him, he can’t see me in my mismatched sweats and crazy hair.  I’m sure he’s thankful for that.

I am really enjoying “working” from home.  I am now more open to looking at work from home opportunities or at least suggesting I telecommute.

Getting paid to be home in my sweats/pyjamas rocks.

Why didn’t anyone tell me about this before?

Comments on: "IWIW – 12/12/12" (5)

  1. I used to work from home two or three times a week. I ended up working longer hours because it was hard to shut down the computer those days, but I felt better about all of it. I got stuff done in the comfort of my sweats, natural light streaming through windows, able to take a quick jaunt down to the coffee shop and come back rejuvenated. I occasionally get to work from home these days–usually when there’s a midday doctor appointment–but it’s not quite the same since usually my son’s around. Still, I do savor it. 😀

  2. I work from home occasionally. I actually like the freedom of working from home, but I get so distracted by things that I could be doing around or outside of the house. I’m glad you’ve enjoyed it thsese past few days!

    • I haven’t had the opportunity to be distracted as I am tied to both my landline and my computer. 😦 But I can imagine how easy it would be to do chores like laundry when you are home working.

  3. I am very jealous of people who can work from home. My current job is not a typical office job so there is no way I could work from home if I wanted to. The only thing is, I think I would get quite distracted with other things to be done around the house if I worked from home. Although the idea of being in your pjs all day sounds like heaven!

Leave a Reply

