Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

This week-end

I feel like I haven’t been in this space is a long time, but it’s only been 3 days.

Yesterday felt long.  All I did was go to lunch and Costco.  Although Costco on the weekend is a trip onto itself.  Most of what I bought was on sale and I still managed to spend a small fortune.  I stocked up on snacks for lunches for my kids.  Hopefully it will last the rest of the month.

I also finally found new glasses for Princess.  She is obsessed with the “nerdy” glasses look but since her prescription is strong the lenses may not look right.  So we found glasses that look very similar to the ones she has now.  The new frames have the ability to change the colours of the arms, so she can co-ordinate with it with her outfits.  It will take 7-10 business days to get them.

Today I made split peas soup to take to work tomorrow along with some bread.  I baked accordion potatoes with chicken fingers. And fried up some garlic pork for my Mom who stopped by for dinner.

I was supposed to declutter my kitchen drawers, but I never got around to it.  It was almost 6 pm before I had my first meal of the day. 😦  I was definitely on the slow boat today.

Tomorrow is a new day.  I will tackle the drawers then.

Last week’s meal planning was so-so.  I ate what I planned, just not always when I planned it.  I ended up giving the extra curry chicken potatoes to my Mom as neither me nor my girls were not going to eat any more of it.  Cooking seems to be an experiment in quantity for me.  When I make just enough, my kids love it and want more.  When I make a lot they only want to eat once. 😦

This week’s menu will come tomorrow.

Comments on: "This week-end" (2)

  1. I love your posts. I am excited to see your meal plan. I am looking for more ideas to add to my rotation.

  2. I’ve been consistently meal plannin since December and I am amazed with myself. I didn’t think I would stick to it this long. It works out great because the daughter and husband know exactly what to expect without constantly asking me what’s for dinner. And, I’m not left scratching my head for meal ideas 30 minutes before cooking time. I would love to see some of your menus, too. I am starting to run out of new things.

Leave a Reply

