Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

I am still feeling Saturday night’s lack of sleep.

I began Saturday by meeting my old co-workers for lunch.  Originally we were to meet at noon but that was moved up to 11 to accommodate one of the ladies.  Well … no one thought to check with the restaurant to see if they were open at that hour.  They open at 11:30 am on Saturdays. 😦

Lunch was ok.  The company was great, the food was meh.  Nothing to write home about.  The service … needed some improvement.  I don’t think I will go back for lunch.  I have been there twice for dinner and enjoyed myself so I am not sure what happened.

After lunch I headed up to Niagara Falls.  It was decided for the sake of my budget that we should stay on the Canadian side.  More so because I will go shopping instead of hanging out if I cross the border.

I got to the hotel about 4 pm, but since I didn’t make the reservation … I had to wait.

About 1/2 hour later my crew showed up.  We checked in and then I heard “Are you hungry?”  Well no I just came from all you can eat sushi but … I could be convinced.

More waiting around.  I am not sure what we were waiting for but time passed.

Eventually we walked down the street to a steak/seafood/ribs place.  I thought we were dining in the restaurant.  I was wrong.

We did take away and went back to our room.  While eating and gabbing and gabbing some more, it was clear that since we were in, no one wanted to go back out.

So we didn’t.  We stayed up very late just reminiscing and catching up.  It was great.

I got home around 2 pm Sunday afternoon, dropped my bags and turned back around to take my Aunt grocery shopping at Big Carrot.

Big Carrot is a great store full of organic/gluten-free/all natural products, read pricy.  I was on my best behaviour.  I only picked up a few new flavours of the taste of nature bars I haven’t tried, clay to make facial masks with my sister and kids, crackers made out of quinoa that I wanted to try, and a detox kit.

My face has been breaking out a lot lately and I need to get it under control.  I usually try to do a detox/cleanse once a year but I haven’t done so for a couple of years now so I figured I was due.  Plus there was a $3 off coupon. 😉

After I dropped my Aunt at home, I went to do my own grocery shopping.  Let me tell you, Sunday late afternoon is not a good time to go to the store.  It was picked over.  I did not get any real produce but they had ribs on sale … So I spent more than I intended.  I would like to blame the tiredness. 😉

Last night’s dinner was chili and pasta.  We still have a lot left over so it will be tonight’s dinner as well.

I have to think about what the rest of the week’s meals will be as my mind is blank right now.  We don’t have any fresh produce and if I am going to do this detox kit I will need fresh fruits and vegetables.

Before I went to lunch on Saturday I stopped by the library and picked up the walking dvd.   So I’ll let you know later how that goes.  What I like based on the back cover is that there are 5 workouts., one for Monday through Friday. 🙂 Minimal thinking for me.

Comments on: "The night of gambling that wasn’t" (1)

  1. […] my wild week-end or most likely my lack of exercise has lead to a gain of about 1.5 lbs this week.  I would sweat […]

Leave a Reply

