Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

PGH – 3/13/13

So far this week I am on top of my fitness game.

On Monday I did the Callanetics workout I should have done on Sunday.

Yesterday I did Level 1 of Jillian Michaels Killer Buns and Thighs.

killer buns and thighs (Source)

It follows the same format at 30 Day Shred and Ripped in 30.  3 workouts, 3 levels, 30+ minutes of fat burning torture fun.  I found it to be challenging.  The previews of levels 2 and 3 scared me as they both involve a chair!?! O_O  I am not sure I will get to discover that joy as I only have this video until Saturday and I have another Jillian video to try out.

Tonight’s fun and good times will be Level 1 of Shred It with Weights.

shred it with weights (Source)

Doesn’t that look like a world of fun?

Tomorrow I will do another Callanetics workout, my 6th so far.

While cleaning up my room last month, I found a workout tracking book that I got from joining a boot camp back in Sept 2010.  My measurements were recorded in this book.  I did the boot camp for 8 weeks and managed to lose a lot of inches. The trainer did not have a scale so I have no idea what I weighed or lost.

When I started on this voyage back in Sept 2012 I gave myself 3 months to lose weight/inches by myself.  If I wasn’t able to motivate myself I would go back to boot camp at $300 for 8 weeks.  Needless to say I kept my money. 🙂

What made me sad about finding the book was when I look at my start measurements from Sept 2010 and Sept 2012 there is a difference of 3 inches in most of the areas that were measured.  In 2 years I gained 3 inches all around.  How did I not notice that?

In 2010 I went to boot camp because I noticed I was putting on weight.  I lost some size, I can’t tell you how much right this minute as I don’t have the book in front of me.  At some point over the past 2 years I would have returned to the size that prompted me to start working out.  I am thinking now that time might have been April 2011 when I did 30 Day Shred for 90 days straight.  I think at that time I built muscle under my fat.  But since I didn’t have a scale and rewarded myself constantly for working out, I did not get the full benefit from all that exercise.

Until I joined myfitnesspal.com I don’t think I realized how much more important watching your calories is than working out.

In the words of the great Maya Angelou, “When you know better, you do better“.

Leave a Reply

