Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

Yesterday I finally made my “use up the veggies” soup.  Turns out I didn’t have as many different veggies as I would have liked.  So basically it was soup with pasta, barley, celery, potatoes, onion and leftover turkey breast from Easter dinner.  Although it was a very pale and boring looking soup, it was delicious and very few calories.  I may have added a touch too much pepper sauce, but that didn’t stop my kids from eating it so it was all good. 🙂  I think I need to put soup back into my regular rotation.  It is a great way to use up leftover food.

Tomorrow morning I am going to take out ribs to cook on Sunday.  I think I am going to make some mashed potatoes to go with it IF they are still good at that point, although that is a BIG if.

I have to look in the freezer and start thinking about what to eat next week.

Sunday will be baking day again.  On the list is bread and maybe banana chocolate chip muffins depending on if we have ripe bananas.

***

I have found a new something to occupy my time.

I joined my condo board in the treasurer position.  Ever since I moved into this building, various residents have been urging me to join the board.  In the past I thought my kids too young and it was too big of a time commitment.  Also there were a couple of incidents against board members a while back that made me very leery and nervous.  But I think the time is now to put in my time and energy.  We seem to have a good mix of old and new blood and all of the members seem to care about the direction the building is going in.  So I am excited to see how I can make a difference.

I am going to my first meeting tomorrow morning.  I was told it will be a maximum of 2 hours.  It will be interesting to learn the inner workings of the board.  I have lots of questions but I will try to be on a look and learn vibe tomorrow.  The board in the process of trying to figure out how to reduce our utility bills.  There are talks of sub-metering which should reduce our maintenance costs and give each unit more control over their electricity bill.  I should get more information on this tomorrow.

 

Leave a Reply

