Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

April Savings Challenge (Source)

One of the things on my to do list is to research reducing my bills.  So this prompted a call to Rogers to see what they can do.

What I used to have was a 20% discount off my internet for a year.  Since the discount ended I now get the 12% bundled discount since I have every service Rogers offers.

Now that you are caught up let me recap the phone conversation.

CSR: Thank you for calling Rogers, my name is blah blah blah.  Please tell me your name, rank and serial number so I can verify you are the account holder.

Me: Sunny blah blah blah.

CSR: Ok, how can I help you?

Me: I used to have a 20% off discount that expired and what wondering if I could get it back.

CSR: Well ma’am, we no longer have that promotion.  Let me see what else is available.

Me: Alright.

CSR: Ok, what I can offer you is an upgrade on how much data you get.  So instead of 60 GBs you can get 80 GBs and at a faster download/upload speed of blah blah blah.  You can get a free modem upgrade for 1 year.  And a 15% discount.

Me: I don’t really need more GBs.  Plus at the end of the year what would that modem cost?

CSR: Well ma’am, it seems that you used 46 GBs this month, maybe you are watching how much data you are using, blah blah blah.

Me: And the cost after the year?

CSR: Only $8/month.

Me: Only huh?  Ok, well let me think about.

CSR: I can put through the work order and if you don’t go pick up the new modem in the next 5 days then it’s cancelled.

Me: I’ll think about it and call you back.

Is it just me or does this not seem worth my while?

I currently own my modem.  We don’t need 60 GBs of data so going to 80 doesn’t seem all that appealing to me.  At the end of a year this account change will save me $18.72.  I know it will be $18+ more than I had before but I am more afraid of the lifestyle creep.  Will I be able to use my old modem in a year or will the internet service plans no longer support it?

I’m going to pass on this “deal”.  In a week I will call Rogers again and see what is offered then.

Wish me luck.

Comments on: "April Savings Challenge, Update 1" (1)

  1. […] part of my Rogers bill has expired.  Time to see if I can get another discount. Called but the deal was not that great  but I didn’t really look into any other ways of reducing my […]

Leave a Reply

