Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

On the menu this week

meal planning (Source)

This month I am going to get serious about menu planning.  I have a tonne of food in my freezer that I should use out.

My goal this month is to only purchase perishables.  I am running out of milk so that will be today’s excuses to go to the grocery store.  There are a few things on my grocery list.  I will stop at the closest grocery store on my way home and stick to the list.  Or IF I should find myself in that money sucking place that is Costco I am going to stick to my guns and stay on track.

So far my menu looks like this:

Sunday:  Ribs with mashed potatoes and corn
Monday: leftovers from Sunday
Tuesday:  Spaghetti with meat sauce and steamed broccoli
Wednesday: Pasta bake using the leftover meat sauce and broccoli
Thursday: Chicken strips and fries with broccoli
Friday:  Frozen pizza
Saturday:  TBD

I would like to start eating fish at least once a week.  But for now baby steps.

Comments on: "On the menu this week" (4)

  1. Sounds like a tasty week 🙂

  2. I like your menu. Do you cook daily or weekly? I’m going to plan better. I’m hoping I can cook all my food on Sundays. We’ll see.

    • My Mom used to cook once on Sundays, but I am not that dedicated to the kitchen. I usually do a nice Sunday dinner with enough for left overs so I don’t have to cook again on Monday. Then I usually cook again one other time in the week again with enough for leftovers. I try to have quick cook meals like chicken nuggets and fries or frozen pizza on hand for the nights when I’m tired and then delegate making dinner to one of my kids.

Leave a Reply

