Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

Assumptions

sushi (Source)

I met my co-worker for all you can eat sushi lunch yesterday.  I did not eat nearly enough as the service was slow and they did not bring all the items we ordered.

It was an extra long lunch as we had a lot of catching up to do.

All was well until the bill came.  The server said it was all included.  My friend was wondering what that meant and when we looked at the bill there was an additional 10% service charge added to the bill AFTER taxes.  The final total was $37.17.

Fine, no problem.

So we laid down 2 twenty-dollar bills and waited.

And waited.

And waited.

And waited.

When it became clear that we were going to have to ask for our change the decision was made to leave.

While it was not a big amount and my girl is a big tipper, it was annoying that they assumed we wouldn’t want our change and counted on the fact that we would not ask for such a small amount back.

Would you have asked for your change back?

Comments on: "Assumptions" (8)

  1. I don’t like that at all to be honest… I find it sooo rude. I think since they already *TOOK* their tip based on what they felt they deserved (good or horrible service included!!!) they should have 100% came back and gave you your change!! I don’t know what has happened to peoples manners nowadays…. ugh! So yes, i’d have gotten my change without a doubt!

  2. A good server would have given you change. Tsk Tsk. Glad you had a good lunch though!

    • I feel like there are some restaurants you go to just for the food. The service is blah and as such you just need to decide is the food worth it. In this case I don’t think so.

  3. me too I would also have complained about lack of service and length of service. Where you work you are expected to give customer service, as without your customers you will have no business!

    Gill

  4. I don’t know anyone that didn’t like sushi.

Leave a Reply

