Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

Hot seat

“No good deed goes unpunished.”  Isn’t that what “they” say?

My car has been in need of some TLC for much longer that I would like to admit.

So yesterday I took my little mechanical money sucker baby to the car wash to get the outside washed and the inside vacuumed and dusted.  It really needed it.

Afterwards it looked almost new.

From there I took my sister and girlfriend to Costco.  On the 10 minute drive my sister who was sitting in the front passenger seat started to tell me the seat was warm.

The controls for the heated seat were in the off position so I was a bit perplexed.

When I went to adjust the heated seat control which has settings from 0 – 5, it was warm.  As I turned the dial to the 5, the dial got hotter and hotter.

Why is the control to the seat and the seat hot?  It was alarming, but I figured that since the dashboard was sprayed with cleaning solution that maybe some got in and that’s what was causing the issue and that it would go away.

BAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!  I love when I’m delusional.

We spent more than an hour in Costco.  In that time the seat cooled down but not the control dial. 😦

The drive to drop my sister off is about 12 minutes and in that time the seat heated back up again. 😦

My girlfriend moved into the passenger seat once we dropped off my sister.  The drive to drop her off was a bit longer and as we got closer she started to really heat up.

We stopped for dinner and the seat cooled off again.

At this point I am texting everyone I know with a VW or car repair experience to get some hints or ideas on what to do.  Of course by the time it occurred to me to call the dealership, they were closed. 😦

The only idea that was presented to me was to take out the fuse that was controlling the seat.  So I looked that up in my handy-dandy manual and removed it.

The seat did seem cooler when I got home but the control was still hot. 😦

I figured I’d give it the night to cool off and see what happens in the morning.

This morning I got up early to take my car to the local Midas as it opens up at 8.  I drove my car and neither the seat or the control was warm.  I took the car for a longer drive to see if that would make a difference.  Still cool to the touch.

So I didn’t take it to the mechanic.  Instead I called VW who confirmed that removing the fuse will stop the over-heating issue and to contact them if I want to repair it.

Ahhhh, no thank you.  My driver’s side heated seat doesn’t work so there is no way I am spending money to make the passenger seat work.

Leave a Reply

