Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

The boat ride

This weekend just flew by.

On Saturday, I went to see my friend’s new toddler.  She’s so sweet.  She took a minute to warm up to me then it was all smiles.  My friend and I ended up going out to Thai for lunch while her hubby took care of their kids.  They are such a sweet family.  I did take a few pictures of her latest addition but I am still getting used to my camera.  I suppose if I were a smarter girl I would just practice more.

After lunch my enabler girl offered up the local stores.  I didn’t think I needed anything … and then we went to Reitman’s.  I always seem to find something in that store.  I was thinking that the capri’s I have at home might be a bit too casual for the boat ride so I went looking for something a little dressier.  I found it and more.  I left the store with 2 pairs of black capris (one casual, one dressy), 2 sleeveless tops (one casual, one dressy) and a dress, that I can either dress up or dress down. 😉

After shopping, I raced to pick up my sister as I was to meet another friend for 6 pm at her parents’ house.  She was driving us to the boat ride.  The tickets said the boat was leaving promptly at 7:30 pm.  I picked up my sister and sent her to pick up some takeout Chinese for her and Princess to eat for dinner.  I quickly ran to the bank and when I returned my sister told me there was a 12 minute wait for the food.  She was gracious enough to walk to my house with the food.  It’s less that 5 minutes so I didn’t feel too bad.

I left my house later than I planned to and arrived at 6 pm.  There was no one there.  Not my girlfriend.  Not her parents.  Not my girl’s hubby. o_O

Her hubby, who is usually late, arrived before she did.  It was kind of funny.

Anyhoo, we left and headed downtown.  Did I mention it is construction season in Toronto?  We were meeting up with 3 other car loads of people who were all at various stages of the journey.  They kept us up-to-date with the current traffic conditions better than the radio.  It was a bit stressful as it seemed like we were not going to make it to the boat before 7:30.  Keep that time in mind.

Once close to the dock we encountered more traffic and the headache of trying to find parking.  My GF’s cousin went to a lot that wanted $22 and decided against it.  I told the folks in the car we are cutting it too close to be choosy.

Eventually we caught up to one of the cars we were meeting and my GF & I got out of the car and walked to the boat.  Hoping to get in contact with the guy who had our tickets.  At this point it was after 7 pm.  He too was on his way down stuck in traffic.

When we got to the boat there was a crowd of people outside that did not look like they were boarding.  It was all very relaxed.  At 7:40 pm we found the guy with the tickets.  And shortly after that my GF’s hubby and the other car load of folks showed up.  We decided to get on the boat at this point.

We picked a table and sat.   And sat.  And waited.  It was 8:30 before they closed the door.  So much for 7:30 sharp.  All that stress and nervous energy for nothing.

The boat ride itself was alright.  Nothing exciting to “write home about” as my Aunties usually say.  Dinner was served almost as soon as we left the dock.  We debated waiting for the crowd to thin but of course that decision was made in the line and we figured we were already up.  It’s a good thing that we went when we did as they ran out of food. O_o

Dinner was minimal.  A bit of rice, a chicken leg and some salad.  Good thing I wasn’t hungry.  My GF’s hubby bought me a couple of glasses of Pepsi and I suppose I should be happy as when I went to buy him and alcoholic beverage, it left me $7.50 poor.  You do not want to see the small cup that was given to me.  Robbery, I tell ya.  I bought 2 bottles of water and it was $7. *cries quietly*

The music was good.  The crowd was interesting.  The capri’s that I was planning to wear would have still been dressy as far as the crowd was concerned.  There were folks there in jeans and t-shirts.

My GF said we know for next time.

I am not sure that there will be a next time for me.  At $50, it’s a bit steep for a “dinner/dance” in my book.  I did like that because it was so pricy there was not the a lot of questionable looking folks.  There was a big age range as I saw people there my mother’s age.  It was a nice mix.

As a side note, where we ended up parking was $8. 🙂

Comments on: "The boat ride" (2)

  1. It sounds like the new toddler is adjusting well…sounds wonderful for your friend and the family. The whole $7 drinks thing is a bug-bear, but at least it is always beautiful being out on the water in summer. Envying you from the grey of winter here in Australia!!

    • I must confess that I still think winter in Canada is uglier than winter in Australia. Being on the water made me think about trying to find a beach or lake house. Now to win the lottery to make it happen. 🙂

Leave a Reply

