Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

Trip to the beach

I had great plans of getting up early-ish on Sunday morning and arriving at my cousin’s place for noon.  But I was moving so slowly that it was noon before I even left the house. 😦

I arrived at her place at 3 pm and we sat a spell.  She took advantage of the 4 extra pairs of arms and left us with with her newborn while she went into her basement to paint some books shelves that she is making.  That girl is very handy.

Around 4:30 we decided to pile in the cars and go to what my cousin described as “the only beach in Kingston”, Grass Creek Park.  It was a good little drive.  I can’t say how far as I was too busy trying to keep up with my cousin who I think thought she was trying out for the Indy 500 or Formula 1.

The beach was small and surprisingly crowded.  My cousin said it was probably worst during peak hours.  The minute we arrive my cousin’s 3-year-old daughter started her “I want to go in the water” chorus.  So my girls and my sister went in with her while my cousin set up her beach tent.

Around 6 I started to get hungry and since my cousin had promised her child that if she obeyed the rules there would be ice cream from McDonald’s I knew that’s what dinner would be.

My cousin gave the 20 minute warning to her kid.  Then the 10 minute warning.  Then it was time to get out of the water.  Well little miss water baby was not having it.  So while my cousin took down her beach tent I went to talk rationally to a 3-year-old.  It was very interesting to see how out of practice I am.  I gave her two options, walk and get McDonald’s or be carried and we go home.  Neither of which appealed to her.  I asked her if she wanted me to carry her.  She said no.  So we started to walk.  All the while she still let me know she wanted to go in the water.  I forgot how single focused small children are.

By the time we were finished with our meal and ice cream it was after 7.  I was anxious to get on the road but Diva left her sunglasses in my cousin’s house and my cousin wanted the help unloading the children.

It was 8:15 when we got on the road to make the 2+ hour drive home. 😦  With traffic and a stop for cheaper gas in the suburbs, we arrived back at my place at 11.  Of course I still had to drop my sister home.  Had I planned properly I would have told her to bring all her stuff with her.

Thankfully my mother only lives around the corner so I was back home by 11:30.

Yesterday morning was a struggle to get out of bed.  Coupled with I was supposed to be at work early which didn’t happen.  I was dragging all day.

It seems I can no longer do 2 late nights in a row. 😦

Leave a Reply

