Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

Sealed pot update

Back in January I started my sealed pot challenge that I learned about from SFT.  The premise is to take a “pot” and seal it.  I know complicated, right?  I found an old coffee can and taped that bad boy up.  I had thoughts of decorating it but well that fell off my radar a long time ago.

The purpose of the pot is to save all your change for a specific goal and time frame.  Unsealing day is December 1, 2013.  I am using my pot for Christmas presents.  I am not sure that I can wait until December as the malls get busy the closer we get to Christmas.

When I was in school, I used to be finished all my shopping before Halloween.  Those were the days.

As of today my pot looks like this.

Sealed pot

 

Almost 8 lbs!!!

Now my debate is when do I open the pot.  I am leaning towards sooner rather than later, as I have half a mind to roll the coins myself instead of taking it to the closest coin counting machine.  Although now that I have put it out there it just seems crazy and time-consuming.

Any guesses as to how much will it contains?

Comments on: "Sealed pot update" (7)

  1. That’s such a good idea – except I never use change! I know some banks will do this thing where it will put your change in a savings account to keep your checking account to a whole number (e.g. 100.25, put .25 in savings), but I don’t think mine does that :/

    I may try this for all of 2014!

    • I am surprised that I managed to collect so many coins as I tend to use debit or credit more than actual cash.
      I have an account where they will round up your purchases to the nearest $1 or $5 increment and put the difference into your savings. The bank I have it with counted each of the roundups as an additional transaction and since I had limited transactions this did not work out so well for me. 😦

  2. Curious what country you are in – do you have dollar coins or pound coins? Here in Canada our loonies and toonies ($1 and $2 coins) add up fast!

  3. […] am well within my sealed pot amount but once I hand out cash to my youngest sister and kids I will be over.  Oh well.  Having the […]

  4. […] year I throw my change into a “sealed pot” as a way of saving for Christmas. Usually I open and cash out in early December but as I did […]

Leave a Reply

