Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

Living under a rock

Princess and I are huge Marvel Comic fans.  Sadly we missed The Wolverine on the big screen.  I have no good excuse, time just seemed to have gotten away from us.

Today we went to see Thor 2.  Princess has been nagging me for months; making sure I was aware that we were going.  We are not missing this one, she told me often.

Thor 2 (Source)

I am not a huge fan of going to the movie theatre.

I always buy movie passes from Costco.  This is the only way I can justify going to the cinema.  The passes are $25-ish  and include general admission for 2 along with 2 drinks and a medium popcorn.

As I was standing in line waiting for my turn at the cashier, I was shocked to see what it costs to go to the movies now-a-days.  Yes I have become an old lady. 😉

For adult general admission:
Regular 2D $11.25
Regular 3D $14.25
UltraAUX 3D $16.25
D-BOX 3D $22.25

Say what???

I swear I have been living under a rock.  I thought movies just came in 2D and 3D.

UltraAUX is a bigger screen, reserved rocker seating and better sound.  D-BOX means your seat moves.  I am not sure that’s worth an extra $11 to me.  Maybe it has to do with the fact that I am not a fan of 3D.  I don’t like the feeling of moving when I’m not or things flying at me.  I can only imagine that coupled with a moving seat.  Thanks, but no thanks.

In addition to the rising costs, I really missed being able to press pause while watching a movie.  By the end of Thor 2 I was twitching in my seat.  Then I had to wait for the extra scenes. 😉

As usual, Princess and I enjoyed this movie.  We are now patiently waiting for April to see Captain America: The Winter Soldier.

Comments on: "Living under a rock" (3)

  1. […] I fell off the wagon this week.  And I was doing so well with getting the menu planning together on Sunday.  I blame Thor. […]

  2. I have seen most of the Marvel-related movies but don’t go to the movie theatre much for the same reason as you. I cringe at the prices when there are so many good DVDs I can borrow from the library for free! I try to choose movies that will be a better experience on the big screen, and the Marvel ones are actually good for that!

Leave a Reply

