Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

Sealed pot reveal

It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas!!

I have been twitching with anticipation to open my sealed pot.  It was driving me insane, which is a short trip. 😉

I weighed my pot one last time.

Weight of the pot

 

8.8 pounds!?!  I’m rich!!! LOL

It took a little bit to rip off the tape sealing the can.  I thought that the can was close to full but …

Inside of sealed pot

 

It was at best a third of the way full.  I was surprised. But now I know for next year.

I thought about dumping the contents into a coin counting machine, but since I already had some coin rolls I figured I’d roll up what I could first.

Pile of coins

 

Hardest part was separating them into piles. 😉

 

Piles of coins

 

All rolled up.  Living in a country that has given up the penny I was surprised to see how many I had.

Rolls of coins

 

You are looking at starting in the upper left hand corner and going left to right in rows:

2 rolls of $0.05 plus an additional 22 pieces
5 rolls of $2 plus 1 additional piece
1 roll of $0.01 plus 17 extra
2 rolls of $0.10 plus 21
4 rolls of $1 plus 12
6 rolls of $0.25 plus 14

Which amounts to $424.50 in rolls and $20.87 in loose change, for a grand total of $445.37.

Not bad considering I think I use debit/credit much more often than cash.

I have already spent $141.52, leaving me with $303.85.  I wonder if I can make this work for the remaining 7 people on my list.

My list consists of my Mom, Dad, step-Mom, 2 sisters, 1 brother and 2 daughters.

After realizing what deep discounts are offered after Christmas last year I decided to give my kids the gift of shopping.  I am going to give them money and then drop them off at the mall of their choosing for an afternoon of what they consider fun.  I know I should be a “better” Mom and go with them but if last year taught me anything it is that I do not like shopping with my kids.  They like to walk up and down and up and down the mall again.  I like to get in and out quickly.  And I definitely do not like crowds.

I never know what to get my Dad.  He is ridiculously annoying picky and not shy about letting me know that he doesn’t like the gift.  The worst to buy for.  The only gift I can recall my Dad really liking was a pair of shorts from Lululemon which he cussed me for spending so much money on.  I can’t win. lol  I usually get his wife a gift card to a spa.  This year I think I am going to get them gift cards to a nice restaurant and call it a happy day.  Gift giving should not be this stressful.

My youngest sister usually gets money.  My other sister gets movie gift cards.  This just leaves my brother … who loves expensive electronic gadgets … At this moment I am leaning towards movie gift cards for him as well.

I think that’s all she wrote.  I might be able to get most of my gifts out of Costco.  One stop shopping!!!  WHOO HOO!!

I can’t wait to be finished with Christmas shopping.

A special thanks to SFT for this great idea.  I will definitely be doing it again.

Comments on: "Sealed pot reveal" (13)

  1. Love this post! I can’t believe you saved loonies and toonies – I would have resisted throwing them into the pot and just spent them throughout the year. But it sure paid off for you! At one time I didn’t like giving cash or gift cards, but now I would rather do that than face a relative when I’ve given a gift they don’t want or like. As you said, gift giving should not be that hard!

  2. Nice!!! When we don’t know what to give Dads (on both sides), we give them fancy sausage 🙂

  3. Congratulations – that’s a good amount of saving!

  4. $424.50!!! OK, maybe I will do this idea next year as well 🙂 I hope it covers the rest of the Christmas shopping and maybe a little extra for you.

  5. That was AWESOME! We used to save our change for our Disney trips when the kids were little. They were so excited when we would go cash in the money because that meant the trip was near.
    Keep up the good work. I always save credit card rewards and such for our Christmas gifts. I bore everyone to tears through out the year with our progress.

  6. […] first year I can’t remember what it all added up to.  But last year’s pot weighed in at 8.8 lbs and turned into […]

  7. […] year’s netted me $310.30. 2013 $445.37 2012 […]

  8. […] and 1 Nickel did not get ingested into the machine so my receipt total was $369.87. Not as much as 2013, but still not bad considering I don’t use cash […]

Leave a Reply

