Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

Jan No Spend Challenge (Source)

Carla has done it again, issued a new no-low spending challenge.  Starting January first she, along with a gaggle of driven folks, myself included, will be trying to be mindful of our pennies.

Ever since she announced it, I’ve been trying to think about what my goals will be.

Other than staying on budget, I’m not sure what else I would like to accomplish.  My kids have suggested we refrain from eating out in January.

Right now, my goals look like this.

  1. Come in on or under my reduced budget
  2. No eating out (except for the lunch I have on the 7th)
  3. 15 “no spend” days
  4. Continue to track my spending
  5. Shop my freezer

Looking back over this year’s budget was not pretty.  I wish I had thought to look at where I stood long before December.  I overspent by 10%. 😦  No wonder I am not making too much headway on my debt.  I spent a ridiculous amount on food.  So I either have an unrealistic expectation about what it costs to feed us or we are gluttons.  Or the more likely case, I am undisciplined. I will be keeping a much closer eye on my food spending next year.

Since I am determined to really shop my freezer,  I reduced my monthly grocery budget by 17% for January.  Other than milk and fresh produce I am not sure why else I might be in the grocery store/Costco next month.  We will just need to learn to make due.  This will also mean I need to be vigilant about baking bread.

In addition to the month-long No-Low Spend Challenge, I am also going to stretch myself by participating in Sharon’s New Year Fiscal Fast.  So for the first 7 days I will be refraining from spending any money.  Since I have a planned lunch on the 7th, I will be extending my fast until the 8th.  I think milk will be my undoing.  Diva drinks it like it’s her not so secret addiction.  To be honest I will most likely buy two sets of milk tomorrow.  I will need to figure out how to hide the extra 4 litres from Diva as when there is a lot of milk in the fridge she tends to go overboard on her consumption.

Now to just keep my eye on the prize all month year long.

Comments on: "January No-Low Spend Challenge" (4)

  1. Those are great goals for January! I need to “shop from my freezer” as well if I want to come in under budget! Good luck!!

Leave a Reply

