Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

2013 recap & 2014 goals

Lately I’ve been thinking about the end of the year.  Not in an introspective kind of way but more in the importance society gives December 31/January 1.  Truth is we are given a “fresh start” every day.  This thought process of now that it’s a new year I get another chance to get it right is troubling me.  I think we get a new chance every day we wake up.

I am going to attempt to change my mindset.  No longer will I wait for next week or next month to do what I should have been doing all along.  Case in point, this past Sunday I said I would start the 30 Day Sculpt and do all 5 weeks.  On Sunday I did not take my butt off the couch.  So I counted that day as my “rest” day and began on Monday.  Tuesday night had me watching the ball drop THEN working out.  As far as I am concerned since I did not sleep it was still a workout for Tuesday even if it was after midnight. 😉

Last year I vowed to:

  1. Spend more time with friends and family.  I can’t say that I made a huge change in my visiting/hanging out.  There are still lots of people on the list to spend time with. 😦
  2. Get active.  According to myfitnesspal.com I moved my body 118 days last year.
  3. Reduce my debt.  Not nearly as much as I would like
  4. Increase my net worth. Yes I have more than doubled my net worth. 🙂
  5. Learn and grow.  I have no idea what I was trying to say here as this is as vague as it can get.

So I’m going to call it a tie. 😉

***

This year

  • I would like to say “yes” more often.  I am far too comfortable chilling on my couch.  So looking for cheap/free entertainment outside of my house is on the list.  My BFF is now a part of several meetup groups and has informed me that there is no reason why we should be at home often anymore.
  • I haven’t been on a plane in 3 years.  I know first world problems. lol  This year I would like to take my kids somewhere by plane.  I will be on the look out for cheap vacation destinations.  Having said that my BFF told me one of her meetup groups is going to South Africa in November … Oh to dream.  For the 3 of us we are looking at $10K.  I don’t think this trip is a possibility for this year, but hopefully for Diva’s high school university graduation.  I would say Princess but her dream trip is to go to England.
  • I know I just finished telling you that I want to leave the house, but I also want to read more.  Think there is a meetup group for that?  Meet in the mall/park/zoo to read a book?? LOL  I have picked 50 as the number of books I would like to read this year.  I read 20 books last year.  An Exacting Life has been reading books that she owns.  Such a novel concept.

My book shelfMost of these books I have yet to read. 😦  So no more putting books on hold at the library.  It’s time to read and get rid of what I have.

In addition to that I would also like to read the Bible.  Actually if I am not mistaken, the black book in the first cubby of the second row from the top is one of my Bibles.  I have read the beginning and the end, but all that happened between Genesis and Revelation … don’t ask me about that.  I will end my night with pages from the Bible.  I will start my days with The Book of Awakening and The Daily Book of Positive Quotations.  Both books are a page a day so nothing too overwhelming.

  • I can’t forget exercise.  Project Get Healthy continues.  My goal is to beat last year’s exercise number of 118 days.  I think I can do that.  Especially when looking back to see large chunks of time without exercise.  Ideally I’d like to lose some weight too but the most important thing is that I keep moving.
  • On the financial front, more of the same.  Stay on or under budget.  I have set up my budget to keep track of how on point I am on a cumulative basis so I can tighten the reins before it is a complete disaster.  Since I was over-budget by 10% last year, my aim is to be 5% or less.  I would say 0 but that doesn’t feel realistic to me.
  • Learn to really use my not so new camera and post more of my own pictures on this blog.  I have taken 2 classes but still the best way to learn is to just go play with it so I will be doing that this year.  My cousin bought herself a dSLR too and is going to take a course at her local college so I’m sure she will share any knowledge she gets. 🙂

I feel like I am forgetting something but I can’t put my finger on what yet.  I’m sure decluttering my home should be on this list but let’s not get too crazy!! LOL

 

 

 

Comments on: "2013 recap & 2014 goals" (7)

  1. I have to say that your unread books look very organized from where I am sitting!
    I have a ton of goals too for the year. We shall see what I get done. Maybe I should make my goal to sit on my butt more. I like that one.

  2. I like your sum-up and you are so right, we can start changes any day! Thanks for the link, too.

  3. A great list! Amongst it all, I hope you keep reviewing the DVDs of Pain! I still can’t quite imagine ever doing one myself but I like to live vicariously 😉

  4. […] My Grandfather’s Blessings which I really enjoyed.  And no it was not from my bookshelf.  Reading down my house is not going so well.  I have managed to reduce the amount of magazines I have but actual books, […]

Leave a Reply

