Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

This is not chicken wings

So you know how I make a meal plan? Well according to this week’s I am supposed to make honey garlic chicken wings.  But as I was putting away the milk I bought on Monday I noticed some tortilla wraps.  Well unless I could figure out something quick to make with them they would most likely end up in the garbage.

Since one of my goals in general is to avoid food waste I started thinking about what to do with them and came up with Mexican lasagna.  A quick google search showed me that I was missing at least one ingredient.  Putting my new-found love of saving money to use along with inspiration from various bloggers and people I know, I decided to try substitution or elimination.

Mexican lasagna

Of course I forgot to take a picture until after I had dished out servings to Diva and my sister.  Those girls took half the lasagna between them.

The recipe I based my Mexican lasagna on is the Kraft site.  Since I never have Velveeta I just left it out.  I am not a fan of just browning meat all by its lonesome so in went some onions and garlic with homemade taco seasoning to kick it up a notch.  I don’t have onion powder so I subbed in dehydrated onions. 😉  I also added frozen corn to my meat in an attempt to put “veggies” in this meal.

My plate

 

This was my plate.  The lettuce was also on the list of things to use up. 😉  Shhhhh, don’t tell my children.

Comments on: "This is not chicken wings" (8)

  1. girlychristina said:

    Yum! That looks so good! I’ll have to try this recipe since I usually always have leftover tortillas after the usual Taco Night =)

  2. […] and I will be having the leftover Mexican lasagna with steamed Brussels sprouts, her favourite […]

  3. Looks delicious!

  4. That looks great. It is so cold here I am almost looking forward to cooking. Almost.

  5. […] coleslaw yesterday using this Classic Coleslaw recipe.  Last night’s dinner was leftover Mexican lasagna meat filling and rice for Princess & I.  Diva ate the leftover meatballs and bread, along with some rice […]

Leave a Reply

