Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

What is that old saying?  No good deed goes unpunished? LOL  With my empty fridge I really had no excuse as to why I should not clean it.  In my naive and delusional state I thought I could just wipe down the shelves and be done with it.

Ahhh NO.  That was not happening.

Wiping the top of the shelf which to me was where the dirt should have been did not result in a clean shelf.  So I took out the shelves and washed them in my sink.

The top shelf is easy as is it actually 2 shelves that are half the width of the fridge.

With the middle shelf I should have called defeat when, while attempting to wash and rinse the oversized piece of plastic in my teeny tiny sink, I ended up getting water on my floor and foot.

I washed the produce bins next.  Again trying to rinse them off resulted with a soaked countertop and floor.  We will not even bother to mention my socks at this point.

The bottom shelf produced much of the same outcome as the middle shelf.  You would have thought that I would have been prepared and aware but nope not really. 😦

So there I was with wet feet and the additional task of washing the floor.

But at least my fridge was clean. 🙂

Because I like to change things up a bit I did attempt to put the middle shelf at the top of the fridge but for the love of a good sandwich it did not want to go.  I spent 10+ minutes trying before I said forget it.  Well I said other words but this is a family friendly blog. 😉

Clean fridge

 

By the time I was finished with the washing and putting back of the insides I really just wanted to kick my fridge so I barely looked at the door other than to remove anything that had expired.  I thought I would have more expired condiments than I did.  The black bean sauce had a 2011 expiry date.  O_o

Note to self: Clean out fridge at least once a year.

Expired condiments

 

As I was putting back all the food I learned that the water filter dispenser that I keep in the fridge had stopped working.  How did I find out you ask?  When the water I had put in the top to filter down to the bottom sloshed out onto the floor.

To say I was not a happy camper is an understatement.  The only good thing was that I had not yet cleaned my floor.

Clean empty fridge

 

Next time I might opt to just buy a whole new fridge.

Comments on: "Adventures in fridge cleaning" (4)

  1. It is so satisfying to see an empty, perfectly clean fridge! (can you come and do mine?!)

    PS. I wish our food packaging had French as well as English.

  2. I haven’t done a full clean in a while. I’ve done an odd drawer or shelf here or there. My theory is if I only do part of it the project won’t be as overwhelming and I will do it more. We will see if that works.

Leave a Reply

