Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

Food Heaven

I found a foodie’s delight.

For the past 3 or 4 months, my cousin and I have been trying to get together for a meal.  Of course her schedule would open up when I’m doing a no/low spend challenge. 😉 When we originally started talking about getting together she told me her sister had taken her to this amazing restaurant at Yonge and Eglinton.  I don’t know where it came from other than we usually go for Indian food, but all this time I swear we were going to an Indian restaurant.

We did not go for Indian food.

I was not disappointed.

My cousin took me to a place called Uncle Betty’s Diner.  By the time we got there they were closing for 30 minutes to change from the brunch menu to the lunch menu.  I was a little put off but there was a kitchen store next door that managed to keep me distracted.  I was very good and keep my hands out of my wallet. 🙂

When we returned I was beyond starving.  There were many things that caught my eye but my cousin recommended the Ultimate Grilled Cheese.

Ultimate Grilled Cheese (Source)

 

The hardest part was deciding between the pulled pork or the meatloaf.  My cousin, bless her heart, suggested we get one of each and share.

Now let me tell you based on the description I was thinking that the mac ‘n cheese and meat would be on the side.

I was so very wrong.

This was the meatloaf version.

Grilled cheese with meatloaf

 

This was the pulled pork.

Grilled cheese with pulled pork

 

I was in food heaven.  And while it looks like “just a sandwich” this was more than enough food.  Half the sandwich and the rings was the right amount of food for me. BUT I wanted to try the other one.  I was reminded why gluttony is a sin.  I felt like I needed to be rolled out of the restaurant when I was finished.  I was that full.

The sandwiches were so delicious.  I don’t even think I could choose between the two.  The pulled pork had a sweetness to it that was just yummy.  The meatloaf version was the ultimate in comfort food.

I guesstimate that my onion rings and sandwich was probably 1000 calories.  Not a regular meal for the health conscious.

Comments on: "Food Heaven" (4)

  1. […] grocery shopping other than picking up milk yesterday.  I was supposed to go to the store but the food coma I was fighting made logical thought […]

  2. […] eating out (except for the lunch I have on the 7th) – Nope, my cousin invited me out and I also paid for the meal my BFF “treated” me to as she has not paid me back yet and […]

Leave a Reply

