Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

Look what I made

I ran away to my cousin’s house in Kingston this past weekend.  Originally we were just going for Saturday night but then the sleepover Diva was supposed to go to was canceled so we made a run for it on Friday night.

My cousin is very crafty.  She knits, stamps, makes cards and takes a million pictures daily.  And has a lot of supplies to feed her habits.

A couple of visits ago I spotted these beautiful tile coasters that were in her house.  And she told me that she made them and if she could find more we could make some too.  She searched in her arsenal of craft bins and found some tiles.

So Saturday night, Princess, my cousin and I made some tile coasters.  There was a lot of planning and practicing stamping done before getting to the actual tile. It was a lot of time spent but we are all very happy with the results.

The tiles

A closer look at the one Princess made.

Queen tile

The caption says “Don’t treat me any differently than you would a queen”.

A closer look at my tile.

My tile

I designed the tile then “convinced” my kid  to colour it in. 😉  Both Princess and my cousin gave me crazy eyes for wanting blue, purple and red in my tile.  Apparently 2 “cool” colours  don’t play well with a “warm” colour.  What was I thinking??

These are the two my cousin made.

tiles

The one on the left is for her hubby.  It says “Hope your day is “PAR-FECT”.  The other is for her desk at work.  It says “Well-behaved women seldom make history”.

My cousin has a ton of awesome stamps with meaningful sayings and pretty images.  So on my next trip I will be bringing some tiles with me to make some more coasters.  Plus now that she’s seen the finished product, Diva wants to make one too.

Comments on: "Look what I made" (9)

  1. They are beautiful! And I like your colour choices too. Nature doesn’t care about being all matchy-matchy!

  2. They look lovely. You are very skillful. Maybe You might learn bag making from coffee bags also. Old Finnish tradition. Check my post. Happy blogging!

  3. Those are wonderful!

  4. […] last weekend was heavy on the fun, this weekend will be heavy on chores. […]

  5. They’re beautiful! I love them. One day on the life list I will “learn to make something.” They worked out very well.

Leave a Reply

