Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

Just do it

Nike has it right. 
I am starting to feel sluggish.  I stepped on the scale recently to confirm a slight increase in weight.  It could be “water weight” but it’s still additional pounds I do not want.
I read Theodora’s account of becoming someone who works out in the morning and decided I really didn’t have a great excuse not to join her.  So last night I set my alarm 30 minutes earlier and said “let me just do it.”
The alarm went off this morning and I would be lying if I told you I jumped out of bed like a bunny rabbit and went to work out.  I pressed snooze and then crawled back into bed.  Thing is in my head I was thinking “you don’t feel tired, so what excuse are you going to use today?”  Yes sometimes I talk to myself in 3rd person.
Anyhoo … I could not come up with any real reason to stop me from working out.  I even bargained with myself by offering up 30 Day Shred as a “quick” 20 minutes and I didn’t have to follow the advance workout; I could play beginner. LOL
I was out of bed and ready to work out within 10 minutes of the alarm going off.  I was mighty impressed with myself.
At the end of it I was a hot sweaty mess but so glad that the workout monkey was off my back. 
I am feeling a little sore ALREADY!?!
The true test will be tomorrow morning.  Hopefully this starts a brand new routine. Especially since winter is coming and I have a very hard time getting up when it’s dark outside.
Comments on: "Just do it" (5)

  1. It’s so, so hard to get up early to exercise! I keep promising myself I will ‘just do it’ but…

    It’s getting lighter here in the mornings so in a few more weeks I will really have no excuse. Going into winter and getting up early though is diabolical!

  2. I used to love morning workouts! I can’t do it now, but when I can find a way to work it in, I will. It feels good to have that done for the day and not have to worry about unexpected schedule changes in the afternoon.

Leave a Reply

