Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

I was going to write this post looking for advice but I don’t think I need any, but feel free to weigh in.

So I got the call I wanted today.

I got the job!!

BUT

And it’s a little big but!!

The pay is less than desirable.  I knew I was going to take a pay cut but the salary offered is lower than the minimum I want.  It’s still workable but just much less wiggle room. 😦  The HR person said that was all that was in the budget.

It is a good size company with offices worldwide.  It is a permanent full-time job with benefits.  The job comes with 4 weeks of paid time off which includes sick days, vacation and personal days.  There is education reimbursement and some pension or stock options or something with a company match up to $3000/yr.  Usually there is a year-end bonus and/or profit-sharing of 3-6%. I think there was more but I was standing in the hallway while it was all recited to me.

I was debating whether or not to take the position when the accounting clerk sent me a text message saying that they are interviewing for an account manager on Thursday.  Which doesn’t surprise me, since last week I was told by a subordinate that I was getting an “assistant”.  I am not that busy that I need an assistant.  Plus I thought it interesting that the other account manager has an assistant whose title is something like sales assistant, but when the recruiter spoke about hiring someone it was an account manager.  Maybe it’s me, but that doesn’t sound like an assistant to me.

Anyhoo … I am going to accept the offer and hope that this new job will be enjoyable and something I can do for the next couple of years.  I am tired of job searching and switching jobs.

Comments on: "I think the decision is made" (4)

  1. That is great news! Congratulations 😀

    I would personally go for conditions and workplace culture over the pay difference. Hopefully it’s a good environment and happier than the current job.

    When will you start?

  2. Congrats! I agree that the working conditions and benefits make all the difference, as long as you can pay the bills!

Leave a Reply

