Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

This is my third year participating in the sealed pot.  A great idea by SFT.  Basic premise is to choose a “pot”, seal it and put all spare change in it for a defined period of time.  I use it for Christmas spending.  It really is phenomenal how much these bits and pieces add up to.

The first year I can’t remember what it all added up to.  But last year’s pot weighed in at 8.8 lbs and turned into $445.37.

I didn’t really have high hopes for this year’s pot as it was a heavy plastic year for me.  Or at least it felt like that.  Yesterday I weighed my tin.  And it was confirmed that it is significantly less than last year.

Sealed pot 2014

3.2 lbs less than last year.

Today I walked to the bank with my tin and dumped it into the coin counter.  Final result is $310.30.  No bad but not as good as last year.

The pot is now once again sealed and the $0.30 has been used to start it up again.

This exercise has definitely goto me thinking about really trying to make next year an all more cash year.  But I have enjoyed the perks I get from my credit cards.  So I will have to figure out a balance.

Now that I have a rough budget, I guess I really need to figure out my Christmas shopping.

Comments on: "Opening this year’s sealed pot" (3)

  1. Wow, Sunny, do you put loonies and toonies in there? I have a coin jar but I only put in nickels and dimes. Last year it came out to about $50.

  2. […] Last year’s netted me $310.30. 2013 $445.37 2012 $106 […]

Leave a Reply

