Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

My last day

Let’s back up to yesterday.

At noon, the President of the company calls me to say we are going out for lunch.  I figured that she wanted to see if I would stay.  We started the drive to the restaurant making casual conversation.  At the restaurant, she tells me she wants to talk honestly woman to woman.  She thanked me for my service.  She said she had “mixed feelings” about me leaving.  Then proceed to say that sometimes you are happy to see someone go and other times not so much.  I did not ask for clarification.

In a very round about way she was trying to figure out if I had concrete plans after today.  But then she peppered it with she isn’t “making any promises”.  Colour me confused.  I’m leaving you lady.  I’m not asking you for anything.  It was very strange.

Anyhoo, I was not my usual agreeable self and beat around the bush with her.  I offered no information.  She would have had better luck really being honest and straight forward.

They are royally screwed.  The company is already short-staffed and employees are over worked and the departure of the shipping chick and myself just makes it much much worst.

Today, the President, the longest employee and the admin girl they hired after me had a meeting.  While they were in the conference room, I took the opportunity to say goodbye to the lady who was just hired 2 months ago as I know no one would tell her that I left.  She seemed rather shocked that I was leaving and expressed to me that she is feeling overwhelmed by the amount of work that she has to do.  I gave her my number just in case she ever wanted to chat.

The meeting was still going on when I returned to my desk.  I caught snippets of it and it sounded like there is going to be longer days in store for both ladies.  The admin chick looked mad when she left for the day.

I would say I feel badly and in a way I do. But I have to look out for me.  And it’s not like they were exactly happy to have me so it was only a matter of time before I was let go.

Surprisingly I sat with the President for only 45 minutes before it was deemed I was good to go.  I left at 1 pm. 🙂

I’m free!!

 

Comments on: "My last day" (4)

  1. What a strange and inconclusive end to the job! It must have actually made you feel better about leaving. I bet you will enjoy your “next chapter.”

  2. It’s funny that the job ended on the 31st Dec…you will definitely be ready for a fresh start in the New Year.

Leave a Reply

