Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

Spending money like a baller

Ok let’s see where to start…

Saturday, I met up with a friend to have sushi at a new all you can eat place.  It was one of those newer places where you can order via tablet.  Very cool.  Great for making sure you get everything that you ordered. We then went back to her house to hang out.  I left her house to see about ordering my furniture.

I was in a rush since I had to drop my girls off to a party.  Instead of just ordering what I want, I told the sales rep I was looking for reclining fabric couches and she told me a new catalogue just came in.

In it I found this set.

Couch set

I like this set much better than the one I was originally going to get.  It doesn’t help that the set I went in to order went up in price by $250.  This one costs $250 less than the new price of the old set. Or exactly what I was looking to spend in the first place.

I have also been toying with the idea of getting a new dining room set, so I inquired about those as well.

I liked this one with the darker fabric chairs, but I did not like the price.

Dining set 1

It wasn’t a lot in the grand scheme of things but it was more than I was willing to spend.

This one was more in my price range but I am not feeling it.

Dining set 2

Since I was indecisive I walked away from everything.

I went back on Sunday and ordered the cheaper couch set pictured above and then this dining set chosen by Diva. I decided that it was time to execute.  I really want to get my place in order and am tired of procrastinating.

Dining set 3

As I was driving home, I had buyer’s remorse about the dining set.  I called the shop to cancel and there was a communication issue so I will call back on Tuesday to cancel it.

While I was out I also purchased an electric fireplace as the furnace in my home is not working well and my electric bill has been climbing the last couple of months. So rather than buy a whole new furnace, I figured I’d supplement my heat with a pretty fireplace.

Fireplace

I love it, but it doesn’t work well in my home.  4 times it tripped the fuse and put us in darkness. 😦 The first time it went out, the fireplace was on and I attempted to vacuum.  While I would like to take it as a sign not to vacuum … After the second time, we turned off anything that was not “essential”.  Then I turned on a small heater on the other side of the room … darkness. As it turns out every outlet in my living room and dining room is on the same fuse and my system can’t handle it. The last time it went out, the fireplace wasn’t even on. So I have no idea what’s that about.  Since I have unplugged the fireplace we have had constant power.

Since I am not about to run an extension cord from a bedroom to the living room, I am going to investigate returning it and seeing if I can just get a regular space heater.

I’m a little disappointed as I think it is a very nice piece and it made the place very cozy. I was planning to put my TV on it and “relax” by the fireplace.

Comments on: "Spending money like a baller" (4)

  1. Love the living room set. Too bad about the fireplace! I would like one too but I don’t think our electrical panel could handle it, either!

  2. I absolutely love the fireplace – I really want one, too! A shame about the circuit issue. I love the living room set as well. Good work dealing with the buyer’s remorse so quickly – I usually let it languish, then I end up keeping things! It was a lovely dining setting but better to find something that is ‘exactly’ what you want.

Leave a Reply

