Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

I have not had the best luck with my slow cookers. Yes I have more than one. The problem is not with the slow cookers themselves but more so with the food that comes out of them. I only have 3 recipes that my kids will eat. I have tried 8 or 9 and they were met with stern faces and loud requests to never make them again.

My first slow cooker was a gift from my step-mom.

slow cooker

It is the creme de creme. It is 6 qt which I think is too big for the 3 of us. I love it though, it is completely programmable in 30 minute increments. I looked for a programmable 4 qt version similar to it and the cost was way more that I really wanted to spend.

I did find this 4 qt for $20 when Target was going out of business.

4 qt slow cooker

It is “programmable” but there are only 4 options; high for 4 or 6 hours OR low for 8 or 10 hours. Not ideal but it works. And the price was right.

The 3 recipes I have had success with are pork roast, Mexican chicken and Jamaican oxtail.

Today I have a new recipe to add to my “collection”!! LOL 🙂 I made Honey Garlic Chicken and my girls said it was good enough to make again. Success in my book.

Comments on: "Adventures in slow cooking" (4)

  1. I have had trouble with slow cookers too. Follow instructions but the food always dries out and sticks. Not sure how much liquid to add to compensate!

  2. We’re relying on our slow-cooker at the moment because our oven stopped working last weekend. We cook lots of regular things like roast beef/lamb, propped up on a few potatoes and carrots. It is fantastic to just switch it on in the morning and come home to fully-cooked dinner at night!

Leave a Reply

