Random thoughts of an upbeat mind

Allergies are slowly driving me bonkers. Last Monday I took my girls along with my BFF and her son to Canada’s Wonderland. It was the hottest day of the summer. Poorly planned on our part. Even though we left early, the long day in the heat and the sun left my exposed skin a rashy mess.

Canada's Wonderland Nightmares

Since then my body seems to have been really struggling. I am not sure what is blooming right now but it has my eyes on fire! Not loving it at all.

Tried a new recipe for ground beef and broccoli stir fry which was not a disaster according to my girls.

Ground beef and broccoli

My girls’ paternal grandmother is visiting so last Friday we went for a visit. She chatted my ears off while my kids were watching TV. O_o We did take a few pics so that was great.

On Saturday I went to visit one of my oldest friends who is visiting from Jamaica. Her mother took us to, some place that I can only describe as a general store, White Feather Country Store. This truck was in their front yard.

White Feather truck

This store had everything. I thought it would be a little farmers’ market type of place but they had kitchen linens, candles, housewares and decorations along with lots of baked goods. We took a good 1.5 hours to wander through the entire place. I left with cheese bread, mini pizzas, spinach and feta pastries and a jar of jalapeno peppers.

We spent the entire day together and I was exhausted by the end of it. It was a great visit and it looks like I will not be able to see her again before she leaves as my next 2 weekends are packed. 😦

Sunday found us having brunch at my Uncle’s house downtown.  This was a very long time coming. It was a great day. We finished the day with a nice walk around his neighbourhood and some gelato.

A walk thru downtown T.O.

Right now I am recovering from the weekend and my various allergic reactions. I am hoping to be on the mend by Saturday as I am going to the Steelers/Bills game in Buffalo. I am so very excited and I am sure I will have another reaction from being outside for too long. 😦 But it will be well worth it as I have been waiting patiently to go to a Steelers game. If I have a great time, I will attempt to make it to Pittsburgh to see a home game. 🙂

Comments on: "Highlights since my last post" (4)

  1. Amusement parks on a hot day – no thanks! The general store sounds like fun. Hope you recover well and enjoy your games!

  2. The chicken-car picture is fantastic! Sounds like a very busy but fun time…perfect for summer. Can’t wait till the rain and cold let up here!

Leave a Reply

